Greek_nomad
Road Warrior

Greek_nomad

October 02, 2014
Rated 5.0

While being at Goleta, we decided to spend a few hours at Gaviota State Park since we heard it is beautiful and worth to see.

We truly enjoyed being there since it fulfilled all tastes. My wife wanted to walk within nature in order to relax and the kids wanted to play at the beach. We totally combined both needs.

When we finished our walk and took some great pictures of the park, we sat at the refreshment cabin by the entrance and enjoyed a cold drink.

Lovely place and for someone that needs to make a natural night-stop, there is a campground as well.

1 person found this review helpful
El Capitan Canyon
4.0
3
El Capitan Canyon
FastBook
$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

October 02, 2014
Rated 5.0

Not far away from Santa Barbara, El Capitan Canyon exists and is perfect for all nature lovers.

This small "community" totally allows you to connect with the beautiful surroundings of ocean and hilly grounds.

The small houses/cabinets are very clean and you will be able to sleep comfortable.

Bring your family and enjoy the site's opportunities!! Enjoy

1 person found this review helpful
October 02, 2014
Rated 4.0

It might seem awkward to say, but this cemetery is a great spot to visit and enjoy the views at the ocean.

It somehow gives you a sense of peace while you are there, respecting the buried people and the calmness of the ocean.

It is as if those people overlook the ocean from where they are resting their souls.

Great use of architecture at the memorials.

1 person found this review helpful
October 02, 2014
Rated 4.0

Great park with a lot of water features for your kids to play. Nice trails to walk trough and loads of greenery. Great place to spend your afternoon with joy.

If you have a dog you can easily take it with you since the park is dog friendly.
There is a clubhouse at the area where you can buy some food and refreshments.

You can also camp if you like as there is a campground available, which we heard is fantastic.!

Was this helpful?
October 01, 2014
Rated 5.0

If you want to experience a day as a "cowboy/cowgirl in Texas" then visit Janss Conejo Ranch.

Within nature and hilly surroundings, you and your family members can horse ride these wonderful and well cared horses that exist at the ranch.

This became one of the greatest experiences we had. I would fully recommend it to everyone!

Was this helpful?
October 01, 2014
Rated 5.0

At this Western side of the Transverse Ranges, there are low and very deep canyons which are covered in parts by nature. Santa Susana Pass State Historical Park has a car park free of charge.

There are loads of people that go there to hike and spend an adventurous evening. The trails are not easy to follow and you will need climbing shoes for sure.

Take with you some sun creme and plenty of water and get prepared to see some beautiful views of the rocky surroundings.

1 person found this review helpful
October 01, 2014
Rated 5.0

Vasquez Rocks is one of the most gorgeous places to go hiking on your own or with family and friends and its free of charge.

These rocks formations are fantastic to see. They look as they have ripped the earth's surface with such a strength only nature can have.

The trails are easy to follow but have in mind there aren't any facilities to buy food or refreshments, so you better have your own.

Also, wear some comfy shoes and climbing-friendly if you want to get on top of the rocks.

It can be fun for everyone, and if you want to get to know how this place has been created then go to the Visitors Center located on site.

2 people found this review helpful
September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0

Just minutes from the beach, the Monarch Butterfly Grove is so worth to see.
These butterflies make their way there in order to get protected.

Such a color fantasy, thousands of butterflies flying here and there, without being afraid of the human existence.

We were all so impressed by this event, I strongly recommend it to everyone travelling to Pismo Beach.

If you are using your cameras in order to memorize the moments, make sure you turn your flash off so you won't scare those beautiful creatures trusting you being there.

1 person found this review helpful
September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0

Walkers and hike lovers definitely know Dinosaur Caves Park. It is an 11-acre site with ocean front trails and is great for a variety of activities.

Photographers can place their cameras and take some great views of the sculpted ocean front rocks, joggers can run trough the beach front and trails while breathing some fresh air, dog holders can release their pups and let them run free at the shore and professional fishermen or just fishing enthusiasts can enjoy a lovely day.

If you want more vegetation instead of the water element, there is also a park that includes natural trails to walk through, restrooms and a play area for the children.

What a great escape for the whole family!

Was this helpful?
September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0

My wife always enjoys visiting gardens of all types. While staying at our hotel in San Luis Obispo, I decided to take her to the San Luis Obispo Botanical Garden.

Not far away from our hotel, it was so worth the drive. The plantation and flowers existing within the gardens were so beautiful and well cared that you could almost feel they are in their natural environment. There were labels for each one of them so you did not leave the place with question to your head.

The gardens occupy a small area but in my point of view there is such a potential it can expand quickly and become one of the most famous gardens of the area.

Was this helpful?