TechnoGypsies

TechnoGypsies

Our mission is to boldly go where the path is only lightly trodden.

July 24, 2016
Rated 3.0

Private residence down a dead end road. You can't go in, but you can look at it from the road while all of their neighbors stare at you. Be respectful and don't trespass.

Was this helpful?
December 06, 2015
Rated 4.0

This is a nice park. It's close to town, well priced, and the space we got (C2) was great, spacious, and had beautiful views.

Was this helpful?
September 18, 2015
Rated 5.0

Awesome little park! It's fairly quiet for being in the middle of town. It's well lit at night without being too bright. There are many large grassy areas to walk the dogs. Nice grocery across the street (HyVee) and a cute farmer's market a short walk away on Thursdays. The cell reception is fantastic! We got 5 bars of AT&T LTE, 4-5 Bars of Verizon LTE, and 5 Bars of Verizon 3G.

Was this helpful?
September 15, 2015
Rated 1.0

Not really worth spending a whole lot of time there, but it's neat that they were able to make art in and around the building like that. Worth seeing once. Never going back.

Was this helpful?
September 15, 2015
Rated 3.0

Al's is a fun little stop. It's not amazing by any means, but the gift shop has some cute items and the restaurant isn't terrible. Their famous Lemon cream cheese pie could use about an inch less of whipped topping and an inch more of lemon cream cheese. All in all, this is just a solid place to pull off the road for awhile.

4 people found this review helpful
September 11, 2015
Rated 4.0

This campground is first-come first-served sites and offers both electric/water hookups for $25 per night and non-hookup sites for $17 per night. Every site has a picnic table and a fire ring. This campground is pet-friendly.

The pads in the non-hookup loop (we were in Fishing Point) are grassy and not entirely level, but easily workable with a few blocks. The non-hookup loops and dump station area have potable water and threaded faucets. The water itself tasted a little funky during our stay, but it wasn't bad. The on-premises dump station is very large and surprisingly clean with four lanes for your dumping pleasure. Be warned if you stay here on a holiday weekend and need to dump-leave early or be prepared to wait.

During our stay the grounds were clean and well maintained. The grass was cut and the roads were free of major pot holes. The rangers came by every few hours to make sure everything was okay. Unfortunately, they didn't seem intent on enforcing the rules, as a quite a few of them drove by our neighbors who had all three of their dogs (and all four of their toddlers) off-leash and mostly unsupervised for the entire weekend.

We had excellent cell and data reception with 4 solid bars of Verizon LTE and 5 bars of Verizon 3G. We were able to stream videos and run updates the entire time we were there and had no interruption in service.

We often avoid state parks because they sometimes charge extra fees in addition to their camping fees. This place is no exception. Non-hookup sites are listed at $17, but you are also charged an additional $5 day-use pass per vehicle. But for a lakeside campground with amenities, the total nightly cost is still very reasonable. We'd easily stay there again the next time we are in the area.

2 people found this review helpful
July 13, 2015
Rated 4.0

Very pretty, however, crappy directions and the GPS is WAY off--don't even bother using it. Because of this, we had an amazingly beautiful walk on the beach... so I'm not complaining too much.

Getting there: The tree is at the northern portion of the Kalaloch campground. If you're not camping there, go to the lodge, walk down the steps to the beach, and then walk NORTH along the beach. It's about .5 mile from the lodge.

4 people found this review helpful
July 13, 2015
Rated 5.0

Gorgeous dry camping! It's a small campground, but very quiet and has beautiful views of the ocean and easy access to the beach. If you rely on solar panels, there is very little shade/tree cover, so you'll be set! One of my favorite spots along the Pacific Ocean.

Verizon and AT&T cell service and data coverage is good. We got 2-3 bars of 4G (sometimes LTE) and 4 bars of 3G consistently.

Sites are now $15/night.

1 person found this review helpful
July 09, 2015
Rated 4.0

A good place to spend an afternoon. Better if you have kids. It's a little expensive, but they have a lot of neat things to look at.

Was this helpful?
July 06, 2015
Rated 4.0

Pretty! If you're passing by on 101, it's worth the short stop to take a walk around. Amazing cliffs views, views of the ocean, and surfer watching.

Was this helpful?