dianewayne

dianewayne

July 16, 2016
Rated 4.0

This is an out of the way must see. REAL dinosaur bones and history all rolled into one large building with a good flow. Then head east one block, and make a left on Main Street until you come upon the Petrified Rock Park. There is no missing it at all!

Was this helpful?
May 22, 2015

A stop from childhood, this is still a place to enjoy as an adult. Yes it is cheesy and yes it is a tourist trap, but they are doing something right as it has been there for years, drawing me in for almost 60.

Was this helpful?
May 22, 2015

This is a good photo op and you can drive your car up to the pumps should you want a picture of it all. Two blocks up the road in the 300 block is a motor cycle museum, free, located behind the show room of a sales lot.

Was this helpful?
May 22, 2015

Well done. Long parking on either side of the street for big rigs is nice for those of us who are towing. The museum is open 7 days a week in the summer, call in off season to make sure it is open. Run by volunteers who are friendly and knowledgeable gives you good Rte 66 info as well as local info. GREAT cars and well presented.

Was this helpful?
May 22, 2015

GREAT stop! The Mouth was there and we were treated to stories and information on Mater as well as Route 66 and road conditions. I think it should be on everyone's stop list.

Was this helpful?
May 22, 2015

This was closed when we were there, but the site was lovely and made for great photography. The photograph here is perfect for the stop off view. We enjoyed just looking at it. We walked across the street to Dairy King and were regaled with wonderful smells, equally wonderful people and a vast amount of visiting and information.

1 person found this review helpful
May 22, 2015

Warning! THIS IS NOT a big rig friendly site! If you are towing with your motor home or your RV is a tow, call ahead and make sure that the lawn is dry enough to turn around on. At $10 a person and having seen so many car museums thus far, I opted to stay in the motor home while my husband spent about an hour visiting and admiring. He said the workmanship was amazing and that while the cars were not his cup of tea, he always values craftsmanship.

1 person found this review helpful
May 22, 2015

I think this is a must do! While people complain that it is crowded, we did not find that the people were overwhelming at all. VERY busy, yes, and the wait for a table was a bit of time. The food however was quite good and the service excellent. The collection of sodas was such fun to see. I purchased an imported soda that I have been wanting for some time and my husband got a couple of interesting ones for himself to fill out the six pack. It is spendy, but the array of items was huge and it was worth it to purchase a six pack costing almost $15 just for the novelty of it all. The building itself is a work of art and then there is the soda bottle in neon. I think it is a must stop

4 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2015

Call before you go as they were not open when we wanted to go. It was really close to 2PM on Sunday so maybe they just had not gotten there yet.

Was this helpful?
May 22, 2015

This was an easy stop and would be no matter your direction. Going East get off at Exit 60 and take the frontage road right to the parking for it. Going West, take Exit 62 and do the same. The walk in is about 1/4 mile and as long as it is not wet, it is easy walking. There are usually paint cans just floating around if you have the sudden, unplanned desire to paint. If you know you want to paint, leave your can for the next people. There is parking for large towing motor homes. If not, wait a few minutes for people to pull out and there will be plenty.

2 people found this review helpful