Adam Shickley

Adam Shickley

Dauphin, PA, USA

July 06, 2016
Rated 5.0

5 star for in season October-April. It is truly an amazing park. Alligators, crocodiles, storks, herons, and plants. It can get a bit buggy so get some DEET. Flamingo campground is an amazing way to experience the park. Mahogany Hammock, Anhinga Trail, and the visitors centers are my top recommendations. You can fish for small tarpon and Snook in the marina after sundown. Take a charter or the tour boat out of Flamingo. Bring a boat, canoe, or Kayak to explore the back country. If you come in the wet season you will be disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful
July 06, 2016
Rated 5.0

We stayed waterfront, it was an amazing campsite. Each waterfront site has its own "bungalow" on the water with a ladder. You can swim and snorkel right from your site. Beach is on a small waterway but it was great. Very friendly. This is a mixed bag of seasonal and transient campers but it is worth staying in. Close to John Pennekamp State Park. Manatees and fish right from the dock. Loved it.

1 person found this review helpful
July 06, 2016
Rated 4.0

Free Parking. Key West is not known for beaches but this one is okay. The African memorial is pretty amazing. The unfinished civil war fort is a neat display. Shallow water, and free entertainment. Bring your own chair, chair rental is $10.

Was this helpful?
July 06, 2016
Rated 5.0

Credit Cards Are Accepted for your tickets! It's $28 for an adult and kids ride free. It's about 90 minutes of touring historic Key West. Guides are knowledgeable on architecture and history. Some of the "facts" are different. Learn about the rich history of this island and see the different cultural heritage of this city. 4 stops get off and on all day. It's a great time.

Was this helpful?
July 06, 2016
Rated 5.0

53 cats on the premise. Most are polydactyl. Take the guided tour, it's free with admission. The tour guides are knowledgeable and quite friendly. Beautiful home rich in history. Once the tour is over you can stay and walk around the property. This house was the birthplace of a many of Hemmingway's literary works. It is worth the price of admission. The interesting history of Key West and its salvage industry is all wrapped into this house. Cats are well cared for and seen weekly by a vet.

Was this helpful?
July 06, 2016
Rated 4.0

This place is super nice. Pool was clean and cool in July. I booked an inland site to save some money, should have gone waterfront. They truly are a resort. They launch and pull your boat if you have one. Game room, laundry, clean shower houses. The staff is some of the most accommodating I have ever worked with. They are super organized and quick at check in, even on a holiday weekend. I rated 4 stars only because the sites are small. They are exactly the width of my slide out to my awning. I am bush to bush. The landscaping made backing in a bit of a hassle. It's tight! This is a top notch facility, luxury camping. However they do what many are doing and surcharge children at $5 each per night. I am sure this on is water related but I hate that my small children cost extra. Very close to Key West. If you have an RV do not plan on taking it site seeing in key west. You will need a taxi.

2 people found this review helpful
July 06, 2016
Rated 5.0

This is an amazing state park. 3 white sand beaches. Concessions, snorkeling right from the beach. Fishing from the coastline. Isolated and natural. This place books fast. Get your reservations as early as you can! This is all the further I will go down into the Keys from now on. Blue waters, natural beaches, no waves as the flats are 3 miles wide.

Was this helpful?
July 06, 2016
Rated 5.0

Very nice clean boats. Had a great 6 hour charter with Hugh. Accommodates kids. Remember to keep expectations in line with the lowest ability fisherman on the boat. We had a blast. Snorkeling can be included. Gennifer was great to work with. It will be your group and 1 guide. Parents will need to help at least one of your children. Be specific with your plans. Listen to their advice. Saved me a lot of money and headache by doing so.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

We did the Adventure Canopy Park. It was awesome. Children as young as 6 can do the ropes courses. They are tiered by age. 6-7 can do 2 very challenging courses. They have a great safety system for them. 8-10 can do 3. 10-12 can do 4 and 13+ can do the whole park. We had a blast. Obstacles and zip lines for 2 hours. Kids haven't slept this good in a long time. Staff is super friendly and they are not time watchers. We had a blast!

1 person found this review helpful
July 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

Awesome spot at the end of the Kennebec River. Water is calm and was quite clear when we were there. Keep you eyes out for seals. If you are planning to canoe or kayak know that the tide here is quite impressive. It moves about 8 feet up and down as the tide rotates. We fished right from the beach and caught some Stripers. The small food mart and restaurant was awesome too.

Was this helpful?