The Stoke Fam

The Stoke Fam

Oregon, USA

Family Adventure & Travel

November 08, 2019
Rated 5.0

We think Norris Geyser Basin is somewhat underrated. It is a large geyser basin with a TON of thermal features to explore, and is also home to Steamboat Springs. If you're lucky enough to see it erupt, it is the tallest active geyser in the world! Tip: When we arrived, we noticed a lot of cars with tarps or covers over them. We found out this is because if Steamboat erupts, the water from the geyser can cause damage to paint and glass on your vehicle, so consider bringing a cover in this area.

1 person found this review helpful
November 08, 2019
Rated 5.0

Absolutely stunning views. However, you will have to share those views with lots of people. Consider taking some of the area trails to get different stunning views with less of the crowds.

Was this helpful?
November 08, 2019
Rated 5.0

Incredible. The views are spectacular and you'll blow everyone else's "Waterfall Wednesday" out of the park with photos from here. Consider taking some of the trails in the area to get different views (and a few less people).

Was this helpful?
November 08, 2019
Rated 4.0

The sulfur smell in this area can be a little on the strong side (our kids weren't fans), but it was really neat to see the different thermal features in the area. Plus, what kid (big or little) doesn't want to check out a Dragon's Mouth?

Was this helpful?
November 08, 2019
Rated 5.0

Beautiful views of the lake all along the road. Stop where you can, but just take your time along the way and stop wherever you are so inspired. If you haven't made it to West Thumb Geyser Basin, it was another one of our favorite spots to view the lake.

Was this helpful?
November 08, 2019
Rated 5.0

A great spot to stop and watch for wildlife...especially in the early morning and evening!

Was this helpful?
November 08, 2019
Rated 5.0

Such a beautiful spot in the park and one of the prime locations to watch for wildlife. We weren't lucky enough to spot wolves while we were there. However, we saw lots of other species: bison, fox, swans, eagles, elk, and many more.

1 person found this review helpful
November 08, 2019
Rated 5.0

One of our favorite views in the park. The canyon is massive...photos can't do it justice. You truly have to drive through this one to appreciate it, We also really appreciated listening to the GyPSy guides through this area.

1 person found this review helpful
November 08, 2019
Rated 4.0

An interesting stop on our drive and a quick stop of the main road. Not our favorite attraction in the park, but if you have a few minutes to spare, it is interesting. We could hear some hissing from the hillside, but not the "roaring" that used to be able to be heard for miles.

Was this helpful?
November 08, 2019
Rated 5.0

An absolutely stunning portion of the park. Especially awe-inspiring driving through during the sunset!

Was this helpful?