McFamilyRoadtrip
Road Warrior

McFamilyRoadtrip

October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0

We camped here last night- sites have flat concrete pads, electric and water hookups if you need it, plus the showers are free (the shower building is a bit outdated but that doesn't affect my review). In the mid-morning, the Blue Angel (planes) were rehearsing for their shows and we got to watch them. The best place to see them clearly was out by the pier at the visitors center. The beach at this location is pristine white sand. Beautiful!

Was this helpful?
October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0

We love this place- nacho plate is huge and yummy, burgers offer many tasty combos and the corned beef is delicious. Always the top on our list of places to eat when we are in the area. Also, leave a signed dollar here on the wall/ceiling to memorialize your trip! Music act was fun at night, had everyone "kissing the moose" on the wall :)

Was this helpful?
October 21, 2014
Rated 4.0

A friend brought us here- we tried the beef brisket, chopped beef tips (yum!), sausage and rib. They have either set dinners (1 meat and 2 sides you pick), meat by the pound, sandwiches or a sampler tray... plus about 7-10 sides (but strangely, no baked beans!). It is essentially self serve- you order at the counter, get food plate, select your drink and desert then pay and seat yourself. For deserts they had a few different types in small clear containers, ready to go. Takeout here would be super easy! We all enjoyed the food. It wasn't the absolute best Bbq we had, but that place isn't here... and we were all happy with the meal quantity, flavor and quality of the meats too.

2 people found this review helpful
October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0

It says it is on private property but there were a lot of people visiting today through the day, climbing around. Someone was even cleaning up lights and props as they have a theatre troupe that puts on shows here on weekends! Very interesting place, some great graffiti art (and some not-so-appealing graffiti of names and such. Don't understand how someone can scrawl "Alice loves Keith" over a literal work of art... Tacky IMO). Definitely somewhere worth seeing (and the camping gear/toy shop nearby is super cool- whole earth)

1 person found this review helpful
September 13, 2014
Rated 4.0

Takes awhile to get your food, but it is yummy. Especially tasty onion rings. There is a large menu with loads of options including every milkshake flavor you can imagine (we didn't try any though, too much food!)

While you wait for your food at picnic tables under the shade of nearby trees, meet up and chat with other travelers and share stories. We found it to be an interesting stop on a fairly non-retail littered stretch of highway. We were glad to find it.

1 person found this review helpful
August 03, 2014

This place was great for us- cheap food that was actually pretty good to eat (hard to find anything on the menu over $5 and lots of options under $2!) plus they had lots for my toddler to see/do. The food was typical fare for diner style menu plus an extensive ice cream/shake menu too. Mmmmm!!

As per the other reviewer, it really is a crazy mash up of things... Dinos, trains, activities, animals etc, but the kids love it. Yes, it is clear that a lot is also under construction too.... they just bought a bunch of big train cars online that they are renovating to use (and in the distant future, may even offer chances to sleep in some train cars! Awesome!!!). It is clear they are presently working on these trains- an electrician/mechanic was there speaking with us while he worked.

If you are traveling with small kids, people who like trains or dinos, a large group (especially if you are tired of spending too much to feed said large group) or just need to get out of the car, stop here. Entertaining American roadside stop.

3 people found this review helpful
August 03, 2014

We went really out of our way for this. It was okay, in my opinion, but all in our krew decided we would eat it again but wouldn't go out of our way to get it.

We went at noon on Sunday. Maybe if we went after bar hours when they are busy, our opinion would be different... when the chicken is freshly cooked instead of from a heat warming tray.

1 person found this review helpful
August 03, 2014

Wasn't great in my opinion... maybe I'm just not a fan of NC style, I don't know. I prefer the style of BBQ they served in Kansas/Memphis...

2 people found this review helpful
August 01, 2014

Visited the Canadian side first- beautiful, well organized with nice walkways etc (and $20 parking!), headed to US side. That town was like a ghost town after dark. Not even a gas station nearby (head towards the outlets/airport if you need gas!). We ended up skipping the US side but after looking at the map of the park, we kinda regret it now. Don't skip seeing the light show during the evening, and ride the maid of the mist boat under the falls if you can too!

2 people found this review helpful
August 01, 2014

Cute little stop, friendly little shop. There is an independent cheese curd shop also near the parking lot... He sells a variety of curds (but my husband didn't tell me till after so I didn't get to buy any. Grrr!)

2 people found this review helpful