JAckles14

JAckles14

Florida

July 27, 2018

Very nice place to stop and have some fun. Bring something to sled down the sand for added enjoyment.

Was this helpful?
July 27, 2018

Wow! This place is beautiful! Much less crowded than other parks especially for what you can experience. The rangers are all very nice and helpful. We stayed two nights in Juniper Campground and it was very empty, quiet, and clean. There are sites that are private and tree covered or more open and back up to rock faces. This is a must stop for anyone interested in geology or anthropology.

Was this helpful?
August 11, 2015
Rated 5.0

I cannot describe how much I love this park! The main road through the park is one scenic view after another but, believe me, it would be a mistake to just drive through. There are so many opportunities for amazing hiking experiences including The Narrows, a slot canyon that follows the Virgin River, and Angels Landing, a challenging chain guided almost vertical climb. There is also plenty of wildlife to see and so many other beautiful views. Keep in mind, this is a popular park so it can be very crowded in the summer season and parking can be an issue. Many of the park's best and most loved sites can only be seen off the main road anyway, by using the park's bus system. If you are only visiting for the day, there are spots to park outside of the park entrances where the bus will pick you up. There are also bus stops at the campground and visitor center. If you want to camp, you will need to arrive early as the sites fill fast. Also, don't bypass the surrounding towns as they are very unique, offering so much in the way of local culture and art.

3 people found this review helpful
August 11, 2015
Rated 5.0

There is nothing about this park that I do not like, it is definitely a do not miss. However, it can get really crowded in the summer season, like all of the big national parks, but they do have a wonderful bus system. I would recommend that you get there early and if you plan to camp, get a site first and use the bus to get around. Parking is almost nonexistent and most spots are full by mid-morning. The park itself is amazing, there are beautiful views around every corner. There are plenty of really great hikes that range from easy to strenuous or challenging and they all will provide you with ample opportunity to view wildlife.

Was this helpful?
August 11, 2015
Rated 4.0

This is a beautiful park. There are some very beautiful hikes and the camp sites are very nice and some are completely private. Some of the roads could be challenging in smaller cars.

Was this helpful?
August 11, 2015
Rated 4.0

My family loves this park.The landscape is beautiful and there is plenty of wildlife to see. We've stayed in both campgrounds in the park and they were both great. The one closer to the visitor center has the amphitheater and the program on the night sky, when they bring out the large telescopes for guests to look through, is a must see. The small restaurant serves really good food and the staff are very nice. The park itself is unique in that they encourage visitors to explore much more freely than most other national parks, we call it the sandcastle covered playground. On each of our visits, we have hiked and climbed to pretty remote spots and discovered fossils that we have documented and reported back to the park authorities. These visits have been wonderful learning experiences for the whole family.

1 person found this review helpful
February 03, 2015
Rated 5.0

This place is so mesmerizing. Looking over the landscape, you can feel the history and imagine the lives of the people who lived here. Worth every penny.

1 person found this review helpful
February 03, 2015
Rated 4.0

Beautiful and some interestingly difficult terrain.

1 person found this review helpful
February 03, 2015
Rated 5.0

This place is a must see for any outdoor lover, it is just spectacular and has never been as crowded as the other national parks when I have been.

3 people found this review helpful
February 03, 2015
Rated 5.0

The new exhibit hall is spectacular! The entire area is stunning and the primitive camping areas are usually empty but they are the best we have ever been to. Can you tell this is one of my family's favorite areas?

1 person found this review helpful