AugsteinGang

AugsteinGang

August 07, 2020
Rated 5.0

The loveliest of campgrounds we’ve visited on our month long trek from Austin to Albany to Cleveland to Austin. Gravel sites for both RV and camping was the only part I did not care for. Although it blended well with the scenery. Sites generally had ample room apart from neighbors. The views are wow! The lake is right there for your enjoyment and even looking between other campers it’s still large and deep enough to take it all in. This was not your golf cart type of campsite which was a pleasant change for our peaceful surroundings. Really everyone was clean and respectful - even quiet. Spaces were very well shaded with grassy patches between. You’re sitting above the water not at the shore. Spaces are fitted with larger rock piles around them which would be concerning for some younger kids but there’s maintained walking trails to the water where you can swim, kayak or drop anchor. The rec. area was also clean and easy to navigate. We actually ended up with the whole place to ourselves.

My favorite part was the excellent layout facing south (A050 was our spot) which faces the largest view of the lake but maintains shade throughout the day and still able to enjoy the sunset.

Oh and we went to Mammoth. It was a nice ride. Not too close and not too far.

Double thumbs up here!

Was this helpful?
August 05, 2020
Rated 4.0

Loved kayaking with my husband on this lake. With so many spots to just pull off the road it was easy to commit and get to it! We found an area with an arm that snaked under trees and raspberry bushes - completely wild. It was a great adventure for a few hours in the afternoon. The lake is brown water fyi.

The marina offers pontoon boat rentals from 8-4 which is a decent stretch. I think you can also rent overnight and camp on some of the land you can only reach by boat. The boats are governed at 10mph so you won’t get much recreation out of it other than the joy ride. Bring your fishing poles and worms though! It’s a great spot to catch bass, catfish and sunfish etc. There was a live well on our boat but they did forget to tie us on an anchor 🤷🏻‍♀️.

The RV and camping...that’s a pass. We considered this over Tappan Lake and am so glad we drove through Tappan first as Clendening is a bit trashy with lopsided sites and seasonal / permanent rvs that are basically just left over trash. Stay at Tappan!

Was this helpful?
August 05, 2020
Rated 4.0

Great spot! New, clean and manicured RV spots. Only downside is the geese are everywhere and so their poop is in the fields and water. I wouldn’t swim at the sandy shore designated for guests. It’s beyond me why everyone else would. Disgusting! However, take the cabin trail, which is beautiful, shady and flat, and you’ll end at the stretch of family sized cabins. There you’ll find a semi-rocky shoreline without the poo problems. I’d love to stay there next time. Super private with a deep lawn for kids to play carefree. Section 1 for the rvs is open without trees and close to the docks. It’s lively and busy with people and golf carts. To be in the woods, stay in section five. The high fives is the better arm and 569 is the primo spot!

There’s some great trail systems worth exploring. I doubt many do so you’ll likely be solo picking wild black raspberries.

The Deersville general store is the only place to shop but they have a great beer selection for being so rural.

If you’re looking for an vacation home for larger families - stay at either Hazels House or Sadie’s House, both walking distance from the store. Amazingly lovely homes with all the creature comforts.

Enjoy!

Was this helpful?
Natural Bridge-Lexington KOA
4.5
8
Natural Bridge-Lexington KOA
KOA Book With KOA

Click to find bookable tours and activities here

July 14, 2020
Rated 5.0

Loved loved loved this stop! We had a pull through right across from the check in office and outside of another pull through row next to the RR.

Staff was super friendly. We called ahead for them to drop firewood which was no problem. The spaces by the playground for the big rigs were the only spaces that didn’t have trees. The rest were perfectly shaded. and the larger back in with patios were nicely sized but there’s a chain link fence that lines the back of that property that’s pretty unsightly. But the rest of the grounds are thoughtful and balanced. Good spacing and clean spots.

The KOA website didn’t offer up the premium patio spots as an option to reserve online which was frustrating seeing the options after we checked in and walked the grounds. We will always call ahead to confirm availability now. The whole campsite was about a quarter full.

Grounds are well kept and really harmonize with nature. We took our 3 and 2 yr old to walk the nature trail at the back of the property at dusk and caught fireflies for a good half an hour. A wonderful spot to get lost before dinner time.

We aren’t up for swimming or playgrounds during COVID and didn’t use any of the facilities. Spots closer to the highway do have road noise but by the office it’s completely unnoticeable.

We did talk with some neighbors who agreed this was a one of a kind KOA. ❤️

3 people found this review helpful
July 14, 2020
Rated 4.0

Drove up with our 32’ RV and there was RV parking to the left. You have the option to pay at the main white house or at the base of the stairs down. It is not wheelchair accessible from the top though the park may grant you access to drive down. The falls along the stairs down are lovely and moss covered calcium deposits. The stairs are a workout so be prepared on your way back up! The bridge is to the right of the base of the stairs and is impressive to say the least. You can tell everyone is awestruck based on how slow moving we all are as we gaze up and around in all directions. The path continues down past the bridge and on to a formal falls area. There’s also a cavern which is accessible elsewhere and has its own fee or you can buy a reduced rate combo ticket. My 2 and 3 yr old were completely unimpressed and more interested in the fish bedding in the creek.

Four stars out of five bc the directions for access and check in weren’t intuitive at all. Also the entry to the stairs is on the side of the building which is quite unattractive for the majestic history of this landmark. The way-finding is literally laminated paper markers.

Still even with my obstinate toddlers, it was a jaw dropping stop. Worth returning to!

Was this helpful?
July 13, 2020
Rated 3.0

Coming straight from the visitor center, the three falls on the Deep Creek Trail are on the list for wonderful views with an easy to moderate trek. Upon arrival to the trailhead you’ll be immediately inundated with tacky inner tubes and floaters - loud and smoking cigarettes along the way.

They will travel from the parking lot the entire route to TBF and then ALL THE WAY to Indian Falls. Terrible. Absolutely TERRIBLE. Ruined just about all the opportunity to enjoy nature. Loud, crowded and giant yellow inner tubes everywhere. Indian Falls is breathtaking. Most of the swimmers aren’t even interested in the beauty surrounding them so they drop in to the left of the falls and few go to right to view the falls so this is the first break from the riff-raff.

From there the trail is what we came for. Peaceful and surrounded by nature. We never crossed another person the entirety of the rest of our walk. Although the trail departs from the river, there’s still small springs in and out of the flanking wildness. After Indian Falls you’re assenting the rest of the way so it’s a workout - at least with a 2 and 3 yr old. I think the loop is about four miles and took us 3.5 hours with lots of nature, water, swimming and snack stops.

If we were to go back I’d go left and start at Juney Falls and then walk to Indian Falls and then double back and forget going to TBF. UNLESS you’re not there during the summer time. Then I’m sure it’s amazing all the way around!

Five stars if no tubes. Three stars with!

Note: very small parking area for cars only.

Was this helpful?
Cherokee - Great Smokies KOA
4.0
1
Cherokee - Great Smokies KOA
KOA Book With KOA

Click to find bookable tours and activities here

July 13, 2020
Rated 4.0

Beautiful site loaded with trees right on the river. At least some of them. We booked for a back in 32’ on the river and it was literally on the river, less than 20’ door to waters edge. Site was well spaced, with picnic bench and fire pit. The grounds offer all sorts of amenities yet at the same time it didn’t disturb us - at our location - since we are less about pools and golf carts and really wanted something that felt “in nature”. Great location too. We are absolutely it interested in PF or Gatlinburg side of things so this offered the less traveled path. They sell firewood ice etc on site but they close by at 8 so make sure you have that figured out in advance! Staff is friendly and accommodating. Appreciated being guided to our site and help packing in. We got to site around 10pm on a Saturday. Lots to do for kids and families - all in one spot too if this is destination enough for you!

1 person found this review helpful
July 11, 2020
Rated 5.0

Wow what a gorgeous park! Stopped for lunch and a swim pulling our 32’ rv. Now the road up into the park is something else. So be ready for some very steep inclines and descents. We weren’t sure where to go since we didn’t pop by the ranger station and ended up at what was labeled picnic and boat ramp. To the right of the parking lot there’s a little rocky cove at the bottom of a tree and grass covered hill that also provided a couple of perfect flat spots for our lunch. The wind was up today so the water was choppy. The bottom of the lake is a mix of rocks and mud - a must wear shoes kind of spot. No all this is said given this was probably NOT the main hangout spot for swimming. None the less it was good to find our own hole for the fam. Looking forward to camping here next time and kayaking the Caney river.

Note: no fee day access

Was this helpful?
July 11, 2020
Rated 5.0

Even with just an overnight stay and early departure, we’ve fallen in love with this park. Friendly and respectful fellow campers. Clean and well thought out spaces for RVs. We woke up and walked about 200 ft to this wide and shallow creek, flanking the RV campsite, which was lined with trees that canopied overhead. In the middle of July it was a perfectly temperate morning. The fire pits at the sites are large and inviting. There’s a park station that sells wood and ice amount other sundries. We are absolutely coming back for a longer stay for more exploring! Lots of trees on site so don’t forget your hammock!

Note: Rv sites 1-10 are very close together and were designed for a larger back in trailer with your car next to it but they do leave them open for other trailers to reserve so be sure to grab two slots if that’s all that’s left. If not, you won’t have room for your pop out or canopy.

Was this helpful?
July 10, 2020
Rated 3.0

Really appreciated the late night arrival. Never saw a soul and the place was quiet. The rest is about what you’d expect to wake up to when you’re searching for a place in the middle of nowhere.

Was this helpful?