“Monterey-Style Adobe home”
Ventura County's only remaining Monterey-style adobe home from the Rancho era - California Historical Landmark No. 115 that was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979 - celebrates Ventura’s Rancho and Latino heritage through weekend tours, seasonal school educational outreach programs and year round special events. Olivas received, in recognition of his service at the Presidio of Santa Barbara, approximately 2,250 acres (9 km2) as part of land grant from Governor Juan Bautista Alvarado in 1841, which he named Rancho San Miguel. The land had originally been part of Mission San Buenaventura, but was appropriated during the secularization of the missions. Olivas built the adobe home in 1841, and expanded it in 1849 to two stories, making it the only such building in the area. He and wife and their 21 children lived here until 1899. It later became part of Max Fleischman's holdings (of yeast and margarine fame), and it was he who donated the land and the house to the City of Ventura. Visitors may experience the expansive adobe home and courtyard built between 1847-49 by wealthy Don Raymundo Olivas on his 4,700-acre Rancho San Miguel with grounds open daily (free) and house open for tours Saturdays & Sundays, 11 am-4 pm or by arrangement. A ghost known as the Black Lady haunts this site. She has been seen in the living room as well as on the balcony.
Be the first to add a review to the Olivas Adobe Historical Park.
Olivas Adobe Historical Park
- Sun, Sat: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Credit Cards Accepted