“Wood Shingled roof adobe”
The Boronda Adobe was built by José Eusebio Boronda between 1844 and 1848 in the grasslands of the lower Salinas Valley. Twenty years later, Salinas City was founded, and in the 130 years since then the town has grown and spread to within a few hundred yards of the Adobe. José Eusebio was the third son of José Manuel Boronda and Maria Gertrudis. He was christened in 1808 at Mission Santa Clara. In 1831, Eusebio married Maria Josefa Buelna. By 1836, they had six children and seven more followed. In 1972, the Monterey County Historical Society acquired the Boronda Adobe and five acres through a combined gift and purchase from Mrs. Wilson. The building has was completely restored and dedicated as a museum in 1976. It is both a California Historical Landmark and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Although it was damaged during the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake, the Adobe has been repaired and has been completely renovated by the Colonial Dames of California, Monterey Chapter
Be the first to add a review to the Boronda Adobe.
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.