“Wyoming's only Thomas Edison exhibit”
In 1940, amateur historian Rev. Hugh Fulton petitioned the county commissioners to set aside a room in the new county courthouse for a museum. The new county courthouse opened to the public on August 30 of that year, with a small room on the northeast corner of the second floor dedicated as a museum. The museum was open during regular courthouse hours. Admission was free and the museum had an open-door policy. Vandalism quickly ended this and the museum became available by appointment only.The first collection the museum acquired was that of rancher A.A. Harper, who had passed away on November 16, 1938. Harper’s daughter had two large, locked cases custom-made to display his smaller items. Rev. Fulton and County Librarian, Miss Margaret Goodrich, began the work of collecting artifacts through gifts and loans. As of January 2013, the museum collection includes 30,000 objects, which have been stored and exhibited in a former church since 1976. The museum has a full-time staff of five, with three regular part-time and occasional seasonal/temporary employees. It is the only museum in the county to be open year-round. Admission has always been free.
Be the first to add a review to the Carbon County Museum.
Carbon County Museum
- Tue - Sat: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted