“abandoned tracks since 1922”
This place is on private property. Listing for informational purposes only. Please do not visit without express permission from the land owner. St. Elmo Colorado was officially founded in 1880. Gold and Silver Mining brought many people to the area. There were over 150 Patented mine claims in the St. Elmo area. Populations reached a high of nearly 2000 people. The DSP&P laid their tracks up to St. Elmo and continued the line through Romley then to Hancock and through the Historic Alpine Tunnel. St. Elmo was considered a Hub town for supplies arriving by train. The tracks were abandoned in 1922. It is said that St. Elmo's Population rode the last train out of town and never came back.
St Elmo was down a very long road off the beaten path. The Aspens and streams along the path were absolutely breathtaking. We loved the various stops to check out Chalk Creek, but were very disappointed by St Elmo. We were given the impression this was an Old Mining Ghost town and thought we could check out the buildings. All building except the PRICEY general store were locked and there was no gas stations or restrooms for miles. There was a port-a-pot about a half mile before store but was very nasty. If your up for a scenic drive, its worth it, but do not go expecting a real ghost town adventure!
Worth the trip down the long well maintained dirt road - still has people around though - not able to go in most of the buildings. Beautiful surroundings
Worth the long beautiful drive!!
Be the first to add a review to the St. Elmo General Store & Town.
St. Elmo General Store & Town
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.