“an uncomplicated retreat”
Stevenswood Spa Resort was the first AAA FOUR DIAMOND award recipient on the Mendocino Coast.Our heritage with AAA has been unblemished for the last two-decades as Stevenswood continues to set the standard for the area. Being the region’s premier resort destination carries with it a certain responsibilty to continue the trends, aesthetics and service levels that are world-class, cutting edge & in a constant state of improvement. Protected lands surround Stevenswood, with Van Damme State Park at our back door. Miles and miles of nature trails originate at Stevenswood Resort. Van Damme State Park was named for Charles Van Damme who was born at Little River in 1881, son of John and Louise Van Damme, early settlers of the region. John Van Damme and his wife were a Flemish couple. The patriarch of the family was born in Ostend, Belgium on May 22, 1832. “Following the sea” for some years, Van Damme, upon his arrival in Mendocino County, later worked in the lumber mill at Little River. In this settlement all of his children were born, including Charles, whose love for the area prompted his acquiring, after some years as a successful operator of the Richmond-San Rafael ferry line, a plot of ground along the redwood coast. Upon his demise this area became a part of the State Park System in 1934. In those early days lumbering was a major economic factor in the development of the northern coastline. Little River was built as a mill town in 1864 by Ruel Stickney, Silas Coombs and Tapping Reeves after the property, formally called Kents Cove, was purchased from W. H. Kent in 1862.
Be the first to add a review to the Stevenswood Spa Resort.
Stevenswood Spa Resort
Hours not available
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted