“the historic headquarters of the Little Compton Historical Society”
Wilbor House is a historic house museum at 548 West Main Road in Little Compton, Rhode Island. The house serves as the headquarters of the Little Compton Historical Society. It was built in 1690 by Samuel Wilbore who purchased the land from the Indians in 1673. The house was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. Tours of historic home and out buildings built during the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Restoration took place in 1955 by Little Compton Historical Society with period furnishings, ceramics and textiles. Buildings include a carriage house, barn, one-room school house and “Peggotty,” the studio of artist, Sydney Burleigh. Changing exhibitions every summer. Private tours, special focus tours, school tours, cemetery tours, walking tours, hands-on history programs and summer camps.
Be the first to add a review to the Wilbor House.
- Tue - Fri: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Own or Manage This Location?
Claim this listing to keep your
information up to date.