“Explore the history of the forest products industry”
Inside the Museum one will find pictures and artifacts telling the history of the forest products industry on the Mendocino Coast and the city of Fort Bragg. Pictures include water shipping, railroads, mills and wood scenes and the earthquake of 1906. The house facade and layout remains much as built with the exception of its towering brick chimneys which toppled in the great earthquake of April 18, 1906 and these were never rebuilt. A unique feature on the Third Floor (not open to the public) is a westerly facing sun porch that overlooked the pacific Ocean, the millsite and shipping harbor maintained by the lumber company. As many as three coastwise schooners could load lumber and general trade goods at the company pier, which operated from 1885 to 1936. The society maintains and curates under lease agreement with the City of Fort Bragg photographs, maps, documents and artifacts related to Fort Bragg Redwood Company, its successors Union Lumber Company, Boise-Cascade and Georgia-Pacififc corporations, affiliated businesses including National Steamship Company and California Western Railroad, and the C.R. Johnson family, founders of FBRCo and ULCo.
Be the first to add a review to the Guest House Museum.
Guest House Museum
- Sun, Thu - Sat: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Own or Manage This Location?
Claim this listing to keep your
information up to date.