Remove Ads

Stanley Institute Museum

2403 MD-16, Cambridge, Maryland 21613 USA

  • Independent
Add to Trip
Remove Ads

“Formerly known as the Rock School”

This 19th century one-room African American schoolhouse was moved to this location in 1867. It is one of the oldest Maryland schools to be organized and maintained by a black community. It ceased operations as a school in July 1966. The school was named in honor of the Reverend Ezekiel Stanley. Between 1867 and 1962, the youth in the African-American community of Christ Rock attended this school, also known as Rock School, which is now listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The school serves a reminder of what schools were like back in the years between the Civil War and the beginning of the Civil Rights Movement.

Read More >

Reviews

Add Review
Thanks!
Your Rating
1
2
3
4
5

Be the first to add a review to the Stanley Institute Museum.

Stanley Institute Museum

2403 MD-16
Cambridge, Maryland
21613 USA
Remove Ads

Hours

Hours not available

Problem with this listing? Let us know.

Has RV parking changed? Let us know.

Remove Ads
  • Unavailable
    Parking
  • Unknown
    Pets Allowed
  • Unknown
    Restrooms
  • Unknown
    Wifi
  • Unknown
    Wheelchair Accessible
  • Unknown
    Credit Cards Accepted
See More Details (1)
Remove Ads

Nearby Hotels

Sherwood, Maryland
FastBook

Click to discover a
great deal!

St. Michaels, Maryland
Federalsburg, Maryland
Cambridge, Maryland
Remove Ads
Remove Ads
21625153