“Formerly known as the Rock School”
This 19th century one-room African American schoolhouse was moved to this location in 1867. It is one of the oldest Maryland schools to be organized and maintained by a black community. It ceased operations as a school in July 1966. The school was named in honor of the Reverend Ezekiel Stanley. Between 1867 and 1962, the youth in the African-American community of Christ Rock attended this school, also known as Rock School, which is now listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The school serves a reminder of what schools were like back in the years between the Civil War and the beginning of the Civil Rights Movement.
Be the first to add a review to the Stanley Institute Museum.
Stanley Institute Museum
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted