The Walker Tavern is a historic structure located at 11710 U.S. Route 12 in Cambridge Township in northwesternmost Lenawee County, Michigan. It was designated as a Michigan Historic Site on February 19, 1958 and was later the county's first property added to the National Register of Historic Places on January 25, 1971. It was built as a modest farmhouse around 1832 by an unknown architect in the style of Federal architecture. It was built at the important intersection of the former Chicago Road (U.S Route 12) and the Monroe Pike (M-50). Its namesake comes from Sylvester and Lucy Walker, who purchased and converted the structure into a tavern in 1843. In addition to a tavern, it also served as an inn for travelers from Monroe en route from Detroit to Chicago — a stagecoach trip that once took five days. Famous guests included Daniel Webster and James Fenimore Cooper. The structure served a variety of purposes, including a meeting place for religious and political gatherings. In 1921, Frederic Hewitt purchased the tavern and converted it into a museum. In 1965, the Walker Tavern underwent several alterations during a restoration process. The structure was incorporated into the Cambridge Junction Historic State Park and continues to serve as a museum and venue for various events.
Be the first to add a review to the Walker Tavern.
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.