Stephen Rees
Road Warrior

Stephen Rees

Cincinnati, OH, United States

Roadtrippers Business Development. Chicago native. Retired Hot Dog Guy.

October 08, 2014
Rated 4.0

Pretty cool place to visit if you've read Mark Twain's books. You can paint the fence, which is a nice tourist attraction, but if my memory serves me right the best part of the area is seeing the island the inspiration for Jackson's Island where Huck Finn chilled with Jim.

2 people found this review helpful
October 07, 2014
Rated 4.0

Elkmont is a totally cool area to explore. It's got a whole street of abandoned houses that are still surprisingly intact, and some really beautiful hiking trails as well.

Was this helpful?
October 07, 2014
Rated 5.0

The coolest office space in a former brewery you've ever seen. Not only does Roadtrippers have a freaking awesome ArtWorks mural on the southern wall of the building, but the two floors of underground tunnels are hands down the most awesome place to explore in the entire city.

Was this helpful?
Bryce Canyon Pines
4.2
3
Bryce Canyon Pines
FastBook
$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

October 06, 2014
Rated 4.0

Very basic but quite cozy cabins just outside of Bryce Canyon National Park. I'd highly recommend staying here and driving into the park if you're considering an extended stay in the area.

2 people found this review helpful
October 06, 2014
Rated 3.0

A decent enough museum with some interesting history, the Powell museum makes for a nice stop as you pass through Green River.

1 person found this review helpful
October 06, 2014
Rated 4.0

Holy cow this place is incredible. Olympic Provisions cuts and cures their own meats in-house, which make for some of the greatest sandwiches in the northwest.

Was this helpful?
October 03, 2014
Rated 5.0

I'm not sure what was cooler, the drive up to Pikes Peak, or the views when you finally got there. It's a breathtaking drive with a ton of switchbacks, and when you get to the summit you feel like you're on top of the whole world (you can also ride the cog train up, which I hear is pretty rad too). Be sure and try the amazing donuts they make at the summit!

Two things to watch out for before you drive up: First, have a half tank of gas in your car--they ask you about this when you pay the entry fee, but there isn't a gas station in the area so make sure you're well-stocked in Colorado Springs before starting the drive. Second, they aren't kidding around when they tell you to put your car in low gear. I forgot to on my way down and was riding my brakes all the way until the mandatory brake check, at which point they told me that my brakes were riding dangerously hot and made me wait for about 20 minutes or so until they had cooled down.

2 people found this review helpful
October 03, 2014
Rated 5.0

Such a cool park, and a totally unique experience! The sand dunes are crazy to see, sitting right at the foot of the San Luis mountains, and even crazier in that you can freaking walk u and down them. The truly adventurous should bring a snowboard and slide down the sand dunes.

Be sure and bring shoes in the summer though, as the sand can get super hot, and expect to be finding sand everywhere (and I mean everywhere) on your person and clothing for the next couple of weeks.

Was this helpful?
October 03, 2014
Rated 3.0

The Oasis is your one and only stop for supplies on the way into the Great Sand Dunes National Park. They've got everything from soda to gas, as well as a restaurant if you're looking for a complete meal.

1 person found this review helpful
October 03, 2014
Rated 5.0

Such a delicious place, and a perfect breakfast stop! Absolute Bakery was recommended to me by my Airbnb host as the best place to eat in Mancos, and it didn't disappoint. I got a ginormous cinnamon role that was delicious, and went perfectly with a nice cup of coffee.

Was this helpful?