Stephen Rees
Road Warrior

Stephen Rees

Cincinnati, OH, United States

Roadtrippers Business Development. Chicago native. Retired Hot Dog Guy.

July 07, 2016
Rated 5.0

G Pub is such an awesome place. The place is spacious with booths, tables, an extensive bar, and pool tables, so it's great for both small and large groups. The atmosphere is loud but not overwhelming, and they've got a pretty extensive beer and cocktail menu. G Pub's food is excellent as well, including some ridiculously delicious nachos covered in cheese and pulled pork. Their standard burger comes with two patties and some basic trimmings, and costs $6.50 if you add cheese for an extra 50 cents. Definitely the best restaurant/pub I've been to in Providence so far.

2 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2016
Rated 5.0

I'm not sure what was cooler, the drive up to Pikes Peak, or the views when you finally got there. It's a breathtaking drive with a ton of switchbacks, and when you get to the summit you feel like you're on top of the whole world (you can also ride the cog train up, which I hear is pretty rad too). Be sure and try the amazing donuts they make at the summit!

Two things to watch out for before you drive up: First, have a half tank of gas in your car--they ask you about this when you pay the entry fee, but there isn't a gas station in the area so make sure you're well-stocked in Colorado Springs before starting the drive. Second, they aren't kidding around when they tell you to put your car in low gear. I forgot to on my way down and was riding my brakes all the way until the mandatory brake check, at which point they told me that my brakes were riding dangerously hot and made me wait for about 20 minutes or so until they had cooled down.

8 people found this review helpful
August 20, 2015
Rated 4.0

Really cool place to check out -- they go all-in on the fact that it's a former church, which is a little weird to take in at first. I thought their beer was great, but the food pretty unimpressive and overpriced.

1 person found this review helpful
August 01, 2015
Rated 3.0

Hell's Backbone Grill has built up a reputation as "the finest food in between Moab and St. George," but I got the sense that they were coasting off of that reputation rather than actually earning it. The food was good (I especially dug their house salad ornamented with dehydrated corn kernels), but I thought it was overpriced and trying a little too hard. The Hell's Backbone Grill has a prime location right alongside Highway 12, and the restaurant itself is a piece of art, but I was not that impressed with the dining experience, especially considering the prices on their menu.

3 people found this review helpful
June 25, 2015
Rated 5.0

A little pricey, but totally worth it, especially on a beautiful day in Chicago. The deck is open during the summer months, and there's a really cool retractable glass roof in case it starts to rain. Feel like a VIP looking out over Lake Shore Drive, the Lake, and Downtown while sipping your $13 Moscow Mule (or $5 Bud Light).

Was this helpful?
February 27, 2015
Rated 4.0

LET'S GO CATS

Was this helpful?
February 27, 2015
Rated 5.0

A beautiful temple tucked away in the near north suburbs of Chicago. The landscape is incredible, and the temple is stunning. A great place to go on a walk or run to from Northwestern University, and a fascinating piece of architecture and religious history you'd never expect to find in Wilmette.

1 person found this review helpful
February 27, 2015
Rated 5.0

Such a beautiful church. Great for flying buttress fans or architecture geeks in general. You can also go inside and catch a service, which is pretty interesting too.

Was this helpful?
February 27, 2015
Rated 5.0

Hands down my favorite of the D.C. memorials. It's a little off the beaten path (at least as far as memorials in the city go), but so worth it. I think the scene looking across the water from the memorial is one of the most beautiful in the whole city.

Was this helpful?
February 27, 2015
Rated 5.0

If you've ever driven between Chicago and Milwaukee on I-94, you've noticed the Mars Cheese Castle and wondered what it's like. You absolutely have to check this place out -- I've never seen so much awesome cheese in my life, AND they now have a bar where you can eat the best grilled cheese ever and wash it down with a New Glarus beer.

Was this helpful?