dianareyno

dianareyno

March 18, 2016
Rated 4.0

Before you go in set your expectations with the understanding that the aquarium is old and small. We went with our 6 year old and spent about 1 1/2 hours there. It was fun but certainly not a world class aquarium. However, there are some advantages to its size. The touch tank is great and very accessible. I've been to larger, more popular aquariums where even getting near the touch tank is a feat in and of itself. Also, there are programs that run throughout the day that allow you to help feed the fish in the very cool outdoor tank and in the nurse shark tank. These types of activities would cost you a lot of extra money at any other aquarium. You're visit will be short one but a fun one.

1 person found this review helpful
March 18, 2016
Rated 5.0

My daughter and I spent a very fun hour hanging out with the butterflies, birds, fish and turtles. Lots of fun for kids and adults. The flamingos are a hoot and the butterflies are everywhere!!! Go if you get a chance.

Was this helpful?
March 18, 2016
Rated 5.0

This free museum is small but packed full of good stuff. You can easily spend 1 to 1 1/2 hours here going through the exhibits and watching the short movie. My 6 year
old loved it. I recommend it for families with curious kids looking for an engaging activity in the AC. Anyone else interested in the ecology of the Keys will like it too.

1 person found this review helpful
March 16, 2016
Rated 5.0

Parents- this park had a great play ground and a FREE COMMUNITY POOL. Such a godsend! You just have to sign in to enter. The pool (called the MLK community pool) is huge and clean. The main pool has a decent shallow end (around 3 + feet) plus there is a completely separate shaded splash pool for the very little ones. Changing room are spacious and clean.

Was this helpful?
March 16, 2016
Rated 4.0

Took my six year old and has a fantastic time. We were on a tight schedule and the 1 1/2 we spent there flew by. Tons of fun for kids who love nature trails, beautiful trees, butterflies, turtles, iguanas, and lizards. The quiet and shady paths were perfect for a hot day. Lots of trails to explore. And the entrance fee was super reasonable. Highly recommend this for families.

Was this helpful?
March 16, 2016
Rated 5.0

A must for fans and a very safe bet for anyone else. The beautiful house and grounds are fun for all ages. Tours run at a nice pace and are very informative and entertaining regardless of your Hemingway knowledge. My six year old spent a very happy hour stalking all the cats and exploring the house.

Was this helpful?
March 13, 2016
Rated 4.0

Nice easy walk in the shade of some beautiful trees. We did the half loop with our six year old and it was a easy and scenic
stroll. We all enjoyed getting a chance to stretch our legs on our way to Key West. Parents: the half loop is very stroller and bicycle friendly (I didn't do the full so can't speak to it) plus there is a bathroom just past the entrance.

1 person found this review helpful
March 13, 2016
Rated 5.0

I took this tour with my 6 year old daughter and we both loved it. I honestly didn't think she'd last the whole tour but she was totally enchanted. The length of the tour might give you pause (I was totally skeptical that there was even 60 minutes of anything worthwhile there) but it is so interesting and the turtle are just a lot of fun to see. Well worth a stop.

Was this helpful?