ajcadoo

ajcadoo

July 02, 2014

$10 entry fee when open (8a-6p I think) however you can drive up after hours. I arrived a couple hours before sunset on a clear Summer day, however when I got to the top, visibility was 50 feet and completely foggy. It was 82 degrees and sunny at the interstate, and 43 degrees at the top. Narrow road has no guardrails and the drops are deadly. If you can't handle heights, I wouldn't drive all the way, especially with the lack of oxygen. Absolutely no view due to the fog/clouds, but on a clear day, I am sure it is breathtaking. I will return.

5 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014

Give yourself 2 hours at least. You can do it in 90 minutes if you rush. Trail is shaded by trees mostly. Very steep and rocky, narrow especially at the top where it is single file clearance. Remarkable how the lake literally hangs off the mountain. It is gorgeous. But the water is cold, don't expect to jump in! Also very crowded, even on a weekday. Weekends would presumably be at least 3 hours just due to the amount of people. Parking is convenient.

8 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014

$10 entry fee. Take Rim Rock Road around the entire landmark for the most views! Well worth it.

3 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014

Sego is more scenic. This has more relatively intact buildings, albeit damaged. Definitely worth a visit for photos and adventuring around the abandoned town. There were a couple rundown homes that may have inhabitants living inside based on the KEEP OUT graffiti.

1 person found this review helpful
July 02, 2014

I loved it. The photo above was taken before 2011. That building (boarding house) is now a pile of wooden debris. There are two rusted 50s vehicles and a fridge nearby. One stone building (the general store) stands with no roof or windows. Apparently, much of the town was raided in the 70s which brought with it much of the town's destruction. There is an abandoned house that is relatively intact slightly before you reach Sego at the narrow road carved into rock. It is very eerie, since you are miles away from the interstate and any signs of life.

8 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014

Right off the Interstate which is convenient. Otherwise nothing too special.

1 person found this review helpful
July 02, 2014

If you haven't been, the wings are great. Original flavor is delicious. They serve free popcorn as well. $7.00 for popcorn and a half pound of wings? Definitely worth it.

1 person found this review helpful
July 02, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous. Must visit. Go to the main visitor area for a beautiful overlook. Utilize highways 89 and 143 for some more scenic areas and small town America. It will be only a few minutes longer than the interstate, but it is worth it. Speed limits are 65 MPH.

7 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014

Not really a ghost town. Nothing truly abandoned. The museum is nice though (pictured above). There is a cool dirt road behind the town if you want to do some off roading but I didn't see anything abandoned.

3 people found this review helpful