Jim Donahue

Jim Donahue

August 12, 2016
Rated 3.0

If you're into the legend of Jesse James, this is a must. The center of the attraction is a 15-minute video that sets up the premise that Jesse James was not killed shortly after the Civil War, but that he lived under an assumed name until 1951. The rest of the exhibit includes four or five wax tableaux and a random collection of antiques and memorabilia, only some of which has to do with the James' legend. If you like a long guns, there is an interesting display of dozens of these. Friendly staff and the obligatory gift shop, also filled with random bric-a-brac. If you need to get off the highway and stretch your legs it's worth the half hour.

4 people found this review helpful
Red Roof Inn Canton
3.9
1
Red Roof Inn Canton
FastBook
$

Click to discover a
great deal!

July 26, 2016
Rated 3.0

Not the worst place I've ever stayed. The parking area is a bit sketchy and the neighborhood is basically fast food places and retail. But we found it clean and acceptable.

Was this helpful?
July 26, 2016
Rated 4.0

Can't believe mine seems to be the first review. There's not a facet of the rock and roll world--and some related worlds--that this place misses. But most of the exhibits are old outfits and instruments. It's like Hard Rock Cafe on steroids. That said, there's a lot of the stuff and it takes a half day or more to really take it all in. I would have liked some more live music and curated exhibits that go into more depth on a subject. Beautiful setting on the lake and next door to the Science Museum in Cleveland. If you love the music of the last 60 years, it's a must.

Was this helpful?
July 26, 2016
Rated 4.0

Smokey smokeness is the theme here. The portions are enormous and the food is uniformly excellent. Service is friendly and professional and the views of the surrounding countryside are outstanding. We enjoyed the smoked salmon appetizer (really a full meal for one, and plenty as a starter for more) and the mushroom soup is rocking good. Be forewarned, however: it's pricey and it's BYOB. We aren't locals and after a long drive we were looking forward to a cocktail...nope.

Was this helpful?
July 26, 2016
Rated 3.0

If you're into FLW, it's part of the grand tour. And the architecture is undeniably innovative. The Visitor Center is well done. But the house tour is not terribly kid-friendly, nor accessible and rather pricey on top of all that. Plus they shuttle you into a soft pitch for a $ gift at the end. The iconic view of the house is actually not even on the tour, but down a well-marked pathway a few hundred yards from the main path to the house. The resourceful and thrifty who aren't all that interested in the guided tour could probably grab this view for free.

8 people found this review helpful
July 06, 2016

They must have moved the totem pole. We can't find it. There's an old rundown building here that looks like it might've been home to the totem pole at one point, but if it's the world's largest I can't see it. Waze says it's here. However there is a cute little diner here called Annie's Diner and it might make a stop worthwhile for some. There is a place called Totem Pole Park and perhaps they moved the totem pole there. We never made it that far.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2016
Rated 3.0

If you're into the legend of Jesse James, this is a must. The center of the attraction is a 15-minute video that sets up the premise that Jesse James was not killed shortly after the Civil War, but that he lived under an assumed name until 1951. The rest of the exhibit includes four or five wax tableaux and a random collection of antiques and memorabilia, only some of which has to do with the James' legend. If you like a long guns, there is an interesting display of dozens of these. Friendly staff and the obligatory gift shop, also filled with random bric-a-brac. If you need to get off the highway and stretch your legs it's worth the half hour.

Was this helpful?
July 02, 2016
Rated 4.0

Excellent (but expensive) food and service. Don't miss the smoked salmon app or the mushroom soup.

Was this helpful?