“Oneroa - Long walk by the beach.”
Accessible to all, the Oneroa Cycle and Walkway linking Waikanae Beach to Midway Beach is popular with visitors and locals alike. Since opening in August 2015, there’s been a steady stream of walkers, pushchairs, wheelchairs, trikes, bicycles, skates, scooters and walking frames trundling up and down the 3m wide 1km long beachfront boardwalk and concrete path.
It's a delightful place for a leisurely stroll at any time of the day with a variety of activities and sights to see - surfers and paddle boarders catching perfect waves, children splashing in the sea and building sandcastles, tugs guiding ships into port, competitions at the tennis courts, the cliffs of Young Nick’s Head, white against the blue-green sea, and sunrises and sunsets to take your breath away.
The design of the walkway reflect the region’s seafaring traditions with artistic use of timber patterning, rope lashings and waka-shaped seating areas.
You can extend the walk by starting at Bright Street and following the path along the banks of the Taruheru River which joins the Waimata River to become the Turanganui River. A mere 1200m in length, it’s the shortest river in the Southern Hemisphere.
The foreshore of the Turanganui River resonates with history. It is the landing place of the Horouta canoe or waka, one of the great ocean-going canoes in which Polynesians migrated to Aotearoa-New Zealand about 800 years ago. Commanded by Pawa and guided by the stars, the waka sailed here from Hawaiki bearing the ancestors of the Maori. On board was a tohunga (priest) named Kiwa who was first to step ashore. Hence the Maori name for the region - Turanganui a Kiwa, ‘the standing place of Kiwa’.
It is also the place where British explorer Captain James Cook and his crew first stepped ashore in Aotearoa-New Zealand in October, 1769. Cook and a local Maori man saluted each other with a hongi (a nose-to-nose Maori greeting) on Te Toka a Taiau, a rock in the middle of the river – the first greeting between Maori and European. Sadly, the rock was blasted to smithereens in 1877 to make way for harbour development.
* NB. Historians disagree over the official date of Captain Cook’s landing due to the fact that he used ‘ships’ time’ (noon-to-noon). Dates above have been converted to civil time (midnight-to-midnight). If the extra day ‘lost’ in crossing the 180th meridian is added, the first landing was made on 9 October, 1769.
Be the first to add a review to the Oneroa Beachfront Cycle And Walkway.
Oneroa Beachfront Cycle And Walkway
- Sun - Sat: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Credit Cards Accepted