“accurately portraying the everyday lives of Lakewood's people from 1834 to 1890”
The Oldest Stone House, operated by the Lakewood Historical Society, is an 1834 dwelling typical of many that stood in Rockport Township (now Lakewood). A window into Lakewood's past, the museum accurately interprets the everyday lives of Lakewood's people from 1834 to the late 1890s. John Honam built his home on Detroit Avenue using locally quarried sandstone. One of Lakewood's earliest settlers, Mr. Honam's nearly 100 acre parcel extended form Detroit Avenue to the shores of Lake Erie. Although moved from its first location, the Oldest Stone House sits on part of Honam's original property. John Honam and later, his daughter Isabella Hotchkiss, used the Oldest Stone House as their family residence until 1897. After that time, the building served a variety of commercial purposes, including a post office, shoe repair shop and upholsterer's store. In 1952, the home was saved from demolition by the Lakewood Historical Society and moved to its current location in Lakewood Park. Furnished to the late 19th century, artifacts in the Oldest Stone House include furniture, household goods, kitchen equipment, tools and more that help tell the story of Lakewood's earliest residents. Guided tours explore the early history of Lakewood, including the social and economic drives that impacted the development of Rockport Township from a small, rural community to a thriving Victorian village.
Be the first to add a review to the Old Stone House Museum.
Old Stone House Museum
Hours not available
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted
Own or Manage This Location?
Claim this listing to keep your
information up to date.