“Where Forrest Gump prayed for shrimp!”
Where Forrest prayed for shrimp in Forrest Gump! Constructed ca. 1833, Stoney Creek Independent Presbyterian Chapel is the only pre-Civil War structure remaining in the village of McPhersonville. This village was built on high ground away from the rice fields in the midst of a tall pine forest. Built by the planters of Prince William Parish who resided in the village during the summer months, the one-story frame building is in the Greek Revival style with later Victorian features. Since it was created as a summer chapel, Stoney Creek is plain and austere, as one would expect for a Presbyterian congregation. It boasts an imposing façade with four Doric columns supporting a pedimented roof, sash windows with semi-elliptical transoms, and a round stained glass window. An octagonal steeple was added in 1890. The lantern of the steeple features arched 6-light windows on four sides. A small wooden finial rests atop the conical roof. The interior is very simple with plain plaster walls, original wooden pews, and wide pine floors. The site was used as a hospital and the grounds for a campsite by Federal troops. Regular worship at the chapel dwindled due to the economy and lack of growth in the community. As a result the congregation was dissolved in 1967. The chapel is maintained by the First Presbyterian Church of Beaufort. Listed in the National Register May 22, 2002.
Very nice grounds and well kept. Like Bryan stated there is nothing else to see in this area. It's not too far from the highway and nice for a picnic and photo op.
cute church - nothing else to see in the area except another cute church a few blocks away - off the beaten path - do not trust your GPS to get you back to the main road.
Be the first to add a review to the Stoney Creek Church.
Stoney Creek Church
Hours not available
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted