“along the banks of the beautiful Factory Creek”
Nestled in a lush green cove along the banks of beautiful Factory Creek stands historic Falls Mill. Built in 1873 as a cotton and woolen factory, the mill was later converted for use as a cotton gin, then as a wood working shop. Today the waterwheel powers millstones that produce stone ground flour, cornmeal, and grits. Antique machinery related to the mill’s history is exhibited on the first two floors of the building. The mill stones, broom making equipment, printing press, and dog powered butter churn are on the first level. The country store, player piano, and weaving exhibit room are on the second floor. Hand looms, spinning wheels and a rare collection of 19th century power looms and wool carding machines are on display. Falls Mill is open to the public for tours from 9 -4 weekdays and Saturday. We are closed each Wednesday and Sunday. Visitors begin with an introductory video of the history of the mill, then take a self-guided tour through the building and scenic grounds. Comfortable walking shoes are recommended. There is one flight of stairs and the second floor is not handicapped accessible. Dress warmly during the winter months as the mill building is not heated.
Beautiful place to see. Very neat to see a working mill, and all the history that goes with it. Kids enjoyed it also.
Be the first to add a review to the Falls Mill.
- Mon - Sat: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.