“Home of the Fairy Stones”
Home of the legendary fairy stones, this park is well known for its 168-acre lake adjoining Philpott Reservoir. The park is just minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Attractions include cabins, a campground, group camping, an equestrian campground, a conference center, hiking trails, lake swimming, rowboats, canoes, paddle boats, kayaks, picnicking and two playgrounds, including one in the water. Campsites have a fire ring that can be used for campfires and cooking. Two vehicles plus the camping unit are allowed per campsite, and all vehicles must be kept on the paved area of the campsite. Additional parking is approximately a half mile from the campground area and parking fees are charged. Dogs are welcome but there is an overnight fee. Keep pets on a leash no longer than 6 feet when not in an enclosed area. Dogs must be attended at all times. Dog owners are expected to clean up after their pets and dispose of their waste in appropriate receptacles. In the late 1920s various groups across the commonwealth began working towards the establishment of state parks in Virginia. It wasn't until 1933, however, with the establishment of the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) that the state was able to begin building such a system. At that time, six areas were acquired, including Fairy Stone. Roanoke newspaper publisher Julius B. Fishburn donated the 4,639-acre site, making it the largest of the six original parks and one of the largest to this day.
Be the first to add a review to the Fairy Stone State Park.
Fairy Stone State Park
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.