“A racing history of 142 year history”
Throughout its 142 year history, the Stafford Motor Speedway has enjoyed a reputation for the innovative. Known as the Stafford Springs Agricultural Park, this 100 acre facility was developed to showcase the area’s Agricultural Heritage. When the Park opened in 1870, patrons from the “big city”, nearby Hartford, would travel directly to the entrance gate aboard the newest form of mechanized transportation…a trolley! Quickly Stafford’s reputation grew. The largest Agricultural events in New England called Stafford home and a half mile horse racing facility drew crowds interested in horsepower instead of fertilizer! Trotters and Pacers tested the Stafford track up to the end of World War II when the return to peace and prosperity brought a new type of racing to Stafford. Park officials reasoned that Americans were ready for faster action. They saw the popularity of Automobile racing in other regions of the country and the horse gave way to motor racing. Midgets, Sprint Cars and an occasional new form of racing from the South called stock cars made Stafford a regular stop on a circuit that saw names like Bill Schindler, Johnny Kaye, George Flemke and Joe Ciski take checkered flags. Bill France, Sr. unveiled his Daytona Speedway in 1959 and Stafford Speedway saw France’s vision. They entered into a long term agreement with France’s organization called NASCAR and have hosted weekly NASCAR events ever since.
Be the first to add a review to the Stafford Motor Speedway.
Stafford Motor Speedway
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.