“Places in Smyrna, DE”
The Smyrna Museum Complex is owned and operated by the Duck Creek Historical Society. This Georgian brick structure was erected by George Wilson in the late 1790’s. The original configuration, three rooms long and one room deep, was architecturally known as a Modified Quaker Hall and Parlor Plan. It contains one interior end wall fireplace, along with a back-to-back fireplace sharing a wall between the hall and parlor. In 1808 the house was assessed as “the Barrix.” In 1810 the spelling had been changed to “the Bare Ox,’ and by 1818 the building was known as “The Barracks.” That name continued until 1989 when it became the Smyrna Museum. There have been many hauntings here, from people hearing unexplained voices and sounds, to seeing things moving on their own, and feeling like they are being watched.
Be the first to add a review to the Smyrna Museum.
- Sat: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted