“the oldest wooden Court House in America”
The 1749 Court House is a museum right in the center of Plymouth that is free and filled with interesting items from Plymouth's history. It is the oldest wooden Court House and the longest used municipal building in America. The 1749 Court House was originally built for the joint use of the county and the town of Plymouth. The town used it during those periods the circuit court was not in session. When the new courthouse was built in 1820, the town purchased this building for the sum of $2,000 and from that time until the early 1950's, virtually every town department has had its office there. The building was restored and opened to the public as a museum in 1970. The museum houses a fire engine from 1828, the town hearse, items from Parting Ways settlement, display of gifts from Plymouth's sister city Schigahama, and panels featuring the recent local history book Beyond Plymouth Rock. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The 1749 Court House is steps away from historic Burial Hill, The First Church, Brewster Gardens, and Leyden Street.
Be the first to add a review to the 1749 Court House and Museum.
1749 Court House and Museum
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.