“former lighthouse station now wildlife reserve”
This place is on private property. Listing for informational purposes only. Please do not visit without express permission from the land owner. In 1872 a steam fog whistle and a keeper’s dwelling were built on the island. By 1890, a light was added to the island to aid to the warning system. It was an oil lens lantern mounted on top of a water tank. An elaborate keeper’s dwelling was added in 1906. Fences were also built to keep the sea lions from encroaching on the houses and gardens, but the ever growing herds of seals often over-ran the area. The station was closed in 1948 after the Coast Guard determined that the cost of maintaining the island was too great. A marker buoy with automatic sound, light, and radar reflector replaced the former light and fog signal. The Federal Government sold the island to the state of California in 1955. The state decided to make the island a scientific preserve and restricted public use and access to allow the elephant seal colonies to grow. The buildings on the island were left to the elements and deteriorated, except for the elaborate keeper's dwelling which has now been over taken by the elephant seals, sea lions, and other various bird species. The Island itself is closed to the public but can still be viewed from the shore. You can learn more at http://www.abandonedplaygrounds.com/ano-nuevo-island-abandoned-and-decaying-lighthouse-station/
Be the first to add a review to the Ano Nuevo Island (Abandoned).
Ano Nuevo Island (Abandoned)
Hours not available
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted