The French Cable Station is a historic station on the southeast corner of Cove Rd. and MA 28 in Orleans, Massachusetts. It was built in 1891 by the French Cable Company, which was installing numerous cables in Cape Cod throughout the late-19th century. By 1898 the station was the terminus of a long trans-Atlantic telegraph cable called "Le Direct." When France surrendered to Nazi Germany in 1940, it was taken over by the federal government for security reasons, but wasn't returned to the company until 1952. The company resumed operations until 1959. After being purchased by 10 prominent Orleans citizens in 1972, it was added to the National Register of Historic Places the same year. The building now serves as the French Cable Station Museum, featuring displays of Atlantic undersea telegraphic cables, instruments, maps and memorabilia.
Be the first to add a review to the French Cable Station.
French Cable Station
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.