The Billiou–Stillwell–Perine House is a Dutch Colonial structure and the oldest standing building on Staten Island, New York. The house was originally built by Pierre Billiou, a Huguenot who arrived at New Amsterdam fleeing religious persecution in Europe in 1661. He founded Oude Dorp (Old Town) in the same year, and subsequently received a land grant on Staten Island, erecting the original stone section of the house about 1662. His daughter Martha (1652-1736) inherited the property and resided there with her husband, Thomas Stillwell (1651-1705), and later with her second husband, Rev. David de Bonrepos (1654-1734). She married Rev. de Bonrepos in 1711. About 1680, Thomas Stillwell, a well-to-do landowner, enlarged the house. His and Martha's descendants, the Brittons, owned it until the mid-18th century. It was then acquired by Edward Perine in 1758. The Perine family owned it until 1913. The building has a shingled, sloping roof, and a Dutch jambless fireplace, which is very high and has a large stone hearth. A secret chamber opens into a room that features a ceiling with exceptionally large beams. Owned by Historic Richmondtown, the house is occasionally open to the public on a limited schedule or by appointment.
Be the first to add a review to the Billiou Stillwell Perine House.
Billiou Stillwell Perine House
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.