“Restored downtown military fort”
The History Museum began renovating the fort in October 2010, and phase one of the project, which are repairs to the building’s infrastructure, required that the History Museum close the exhibits at the fort to the public for an extended period while the renovations were being completed. Over the past two years, the History Museum has been committed to renovating the fort in an economically and fiscally-responsible way, reallocating funds from existing contracts to pay for the renovations of the fort. From 1763 to 1780, England was in possession of Mobile and the fort was renamed Fort Charlotte in honor of King George III’s wife. From 1780 to1813, Spain ruled Mobile and the fort was renamed Fort Carlota. In 1813, Mobile was occupied by United States troops and the fort again named Fort Charlotte.In 1820, Congress authorized the sale and removal of the fort since it was no longer needed for defense. City funds paid for the demolition to make way for new streets and construction built towards the river and southward. By late 1823, most above ground traces of Mobile’s fort were gone.
Cool place. It only took about 40 mins to an hour to walk through but it was really neat!
Be the first to add a review to the Fort Conde Museum and Welcome Center.
Fort Conde Museum and Welcome Center
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.