Commissioned by Father Fermin Lasuen in 1787 as the eleventh mission. The most complete restored mission, which was built from 1813 onwards after the original buildings south of Lompoc were destroyed in earthquakes in 1812. A large cross constructed in 1912 to commemorate the 125th anniversary of the founding of La Purisima Mission & 100th anniversary of its destruction can be observed on the top of the hill behind the Veterans Memorial Building. Is unusual in several respects, including the fact that is one of two missions managed as a State Park rather than an ecclesiastical institution (after its restoration by the Civilian Conservation Corps, completed the day Pearl Harbor was bombed), and that its bell wall is painted pink instead of the more common white.
Be the first to add a review to the Mission La Purisima Concepcion de Maria Santisima.
Mission La Purisima Concepcion de Maria Santisima
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.