“water under the bridge”
Constructed in 1909 Campbell’s Covered Bridge is the only remaining covered bridge in the State of South Carolina. The 38 foot long, 12 foot wide pine structure that spans Beaverdam Creek was built by Charles Irwin Willis. Locals believe that the bridge was named for Lafayette Campbell, who at the time of the bridge’s construction owned 194 acres in the immediate area. The bridge and surrounding acreage is presently owned by Greenville County and has been transformed into a passive park where visitors can picnic, explore the foundations of the old grist mill and home site, wet their feet on a hot summer day in Beaverdam Creek, and learn about the area through interpretive signage.
Beautiful stop off the beaten path of an old bridge, picnic tables and paths to hike/bike as well.
Nice Place to stop by.
Be the first to add a review to the Campbell's Covered Bridge.
Campbell's Covered Bridge
- Sun - Sat: 8:00 am - 6:30 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Own or Manage This Location?
Claim this listing to keep your
information up to date.