One of the most beautiful city halls in America and open to the public. The building was designed in Prairie School style by noted local architect Henry John Klutho. Originally constructed as department store in 1912, the St. James Building was purchased by the city in 1993 and became the new city hall in 1997. The name was chosen by its investors, businessmen from Connecticut, the relevance being that Saint James is the patron Saint of travelers. The interior features a spectacular sunlit atrium with a dominating octagonal glass dome. The defining feature of the structure is the large abstract decorative cornices on the buildings exterior.
Be the first to add a review to the City Hall (St. James Building).
City Hall (St. James Building)
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.