Remove Ads
3.3
32 votes

Harpers Ferry-Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Rd, Harpers Ferry, West Virginia 25425-5168 USA

$$
Reasonable
Closed Now
Opens Fri 7a
  • Chain
  • Credit Cards
    Accepted
  • Pet Friendly
  • Not Wheelchair
    Accessible
  • Public
    Restrooms
Add to Trip
Remove Ads

“Make some history all your own”

The Harpers Ferry/Civil War Battlefields KOA is a fantastic vacation destination spot that's perfect for the whole family. We are excited to offer a variety of camping and lodging accommodations, and we are making things even better this year! Our Specialty Coffee and Wine Store, GRAPES & GRINDS, has been a popular place for morning specialty coffees and afternoon wine tastings. Check our deluxe cabins with bathrooms and some with kitchens too! As always, our jumping pillow and giant inflatable are a hit with the kids. Only 5 miles to Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races.  And, as always, we still have all of the fun stuff you've come to love about our campground, like our junior Olympic swimming pool, indoor and outdoor basketball courts, volleyball, corn-hole, game room, Bark Zone dog park, and pancakes ($) in season. So make your plans now to come and make some history all your own. See you soon! Your Host:  Recreational Adventures Co.  

Read More >

Reviews of Harpers Ferry-Civil War Battlefields KOA

26 people have reviewed this location

Ratings Summary

3.4 Access
4.5 Location
3.5 Cleanliness
2.3 Site Quality
3.1 Noise

Cell Coverage

Verizon 4G/5G

Confirmed by 11 users | Last reported on September 20, 2023

AT&T 4G/5G

Confirmed by 6 users | Last reported on October 19, 2023

T-Mobile 4G/5G

Confirmed by 2 users | Last reported on July 09, 2023

Reviews

Add Review
Thanks!
Your Rating
1
2
3
4
5

Reviewed by
Tatiana Danger

  • Road Warrior
  • 1,169 Reviews
  • 916 Helpful
July 04, 2017
Rated 4.0

Awesome location! Right next to the Harpers Ferry National
historic park, and the Shenandoah river (which has plenty of hidden tubing inlets if you don't wanna pay 35 bucks a person at River Rafters, an adventure sport company right next door to KOA). The campground was good, we were lucky to get a tent site right next to the woods, but most campsites were just in dirt and gravel areas. Definitely request a wooded site. The pool was great, clean. There's a couple big bouncy castles for kids and a massive bouncing pillow. However we went in July and it was just too hot, they should put a tent up over then bouncy pillow. Lots of bathroom facilities, clean enough for a campground that sees lots of foot traffic every day. A great hidden gem of this campground is the mini movie theater in the back of the registration building, playing 4-5 movies a day in nice air conditioning.

2 people found this review helpful
Photo of Campendium

Reviewed by
Campendium

July 19, 2018
Rated

Site was not level at all, very tight, and oddly-shaped. However, it was definitely one of the more spacious RV sites in the campground. The bugs (mainly gnats, a few mosquitoes) were horrendous while we were setting up. After a few hours of burning citronella and mosquito coils, they were tolerable.

This campground was huge, and very crowded. We were there in the days leading up to 4th of July, and there was not a single empty site. Our section had mostly pop-ups and mid-size travel trailers, so the sites were all grassy. However, the area with pull-through sites for big rigs was just a huge RV parking lot. All roads were very narrow and winding. We did fine with the pup, but can’t imagine trying to navigate a large motorhome through there. Crowding/space issues aside, this is a really nice (albeit expensive) campground. Everything, from the grounds, to rec halls, to pool and laundry, was sparkling clean and beautifully maintained. Staff was very friendly, as well. Tons of stuff to do here, especially for families: arts & crafts, indoor movie theatre, games, civil war reenactments, wine tastings, etc. We were certainly never bored, and the kids thought they had died and gone to heaven. Bathrooms were very clean as well, and there was surprisingly never a wait for the showers. Free daily pancake breakfast is included during the on-season, which was nice.

Overall, this is a really nice place, but much more of a resort than a campground in my opinion. The kids loved it, but I’ll always prefer the wooded seclusion of a state or national park. However, if I was looking for a more action-packed, activities-filled “glamping” experience, I wouldn’t hesitate to return.

UPDATE- July 2017: Stayed here over 4th of July weekend for the 2nd year in a row, in site #119 this time, and we’re thinking of making it an annual family tradition. Same great activities, noise and crowds as last year, but we had a blast again. The bathhouses looked much shabbier and dirtier to me this year, for some reason. Still definitely usable, but I’ve been far more impressed with the cleanliness, ventilation and overall condition of MD State Park bathhouses. So, back to the peace and quiet of camping on public lands for a while. Til next time!

Was this helpful?
This reviewer would stay here again

Nightly Rate: $66.00

Days Stayed: 3

Site Number: 101 and 119

5 Access
5 Location
4 Cleanliness
3 Site Quality
3 Noise

Cell Coverage Rating

Verizon 4G

Reviewed by
stevenbrubaker

  • 14 Reviews
  • 0 Helpful
January 24, 2019
Rated

This is a really great family park. Keep in mind, it is a family resort so it can get a little loud with kids (and sometimes adults), but they have tons of things to appeal to everyone! Fall they do a haunted house and trick-or-treating, lots of daily activities for the kids throughout the summer also, a huge pool and game room. Do not expect peace and quiet - expect to go and make some really awesome memories with the kids and grandkids!

My rating is not based on the resort style atmosphere... it is on the sites. Most of the times we have gone here, there were issues with the sites. They placed us in a site that was too small for our rig, and kinda had to make do, and another time we drove into our site and found another trailer halfway onto our site because there were trees growing in the middle of the site! The rest of the site was way too steep with the roots that they were placed so close I could not open my awnings.... and management could not do anything about it.

The other thing that caused another star to drop is the "add-ons"... $10 resort fee on top of per person fee and then pet fees. They have to be able to charge for all these activities, but seems like a lot of additional fees that can really make this place pretty expensive.

Was this helpful?
stevenbrubaker would stay here again

Nightly Rate: $68.00

Days Stayed: 2

Site Number: -

4 Access
5 Location
4 Cleanliness
3 Site Quality
2 Noise

Cell Coverage Rating

AT&T 4G

Photo of Campendium

Reviewed by
Campendium

April 19, 2019
Rated

This is a large, family style resort. It is crowded and the site are very close together and not level in the wooded area. The spot we were assigned to was not easy to get into because of 2 tree on both sides of the gravel drive. There is clearly a lot to do, but it is loud. Quiet hours were respected.
We are only overnighting it on our way to the valley, but even with amenities, it seems over priced.

Was this helpful?

Nightly Rate: $61.00

Days Stayed: 1

Site Number: 180

3 Access
5 Location
4 Cleanliness
2 Site Quality
3 Noise

Cell Coverage Rating

T-Mobile 4G

Photo of Campendium

Reviewed by
Campendium

May 18, 2019
Rated

We left right after going to our site. Couldn’t even fit our class B into the assigned site. RVs packed like sardines in a can. Air filled with smoke as if a civil war battle had just been fought. Guy at desk refunded second night only. Can’t say I even understand the camp fires as this certainly wasn’t ‘camping. Ironically, we had just been traveling for 5 weeks and the most we paid was $45. Gave one star because no stars not an option.

Was this helpful?

Nightly Rate: $74.00

Days Stayed: 0

Site Number: -

1 Access
5 Location
3 Cleanliness
1 Site Quality
2 Noise
Photo of Campendium

Reviewed by
Campendium

May 28, 2019
Rated

This camp ground has a lot to offer. The family enjoyed the planned crafting activities as well as the items available for sale in the camp ground store. The free pancakes are excellent.

The camp ground is close to the Harpers Ferry National Park. We spent several days hiking and exploring here.

The camp sites are small and close to each other. Navigating through when the park is full is difficult with most rigs.

Was this helpful?
This reviewer would stay here again

Nightly Rate: $56.00

Days Stayed: 4

Site Number: 149

2 Access
5 Location
2 Cleanliness
3 Site Quality
3 Noise

Cell Coverage Rating

AT&T 4G

Photo of Campendium

Reviewed by
Campendium

July 30, 2019
Rated

This seems like a great spot for families. A lot of amenities (mini golf, pool, theater, game room, etc etc) but we were there to see Harpers Ferry. In addition to the site charge there is a daily resort fee of $10 and a $2 per day pet fee. We had a fhu pull thru. Very close to our neighbors. No shade. The cable was so fuzzy we hooked up our dish. Verizon didn’t work well. And when we finally got on their WiFi it was so slow we gave up. Unless you plan to make use of the amenities this is not where you want to be.

Was this helpful?

Nightly Rate: $70.00

Days Stayed: 3

Site Number: 43

5 Access
4 Location
4 Cleanliness
2 Site Quality
3 Noise

Cell Coverage Rating

Verizon 4G

  • 3 Reviews
  • 0 Helpful
March 19, 2020
Rated

After our stay I would say, sites are small and mostly very Unleveled. But some of the sites have beautiful views. It is a very big campground, don’t think I would want to camp here in the summer, may get a little crazy. But it’s a great place for kids.

Was this helpful?
roadtripper3553591 would stay here again

Nightly Rate: -

Days Stayed: 6

Site Number: 74

2 Access
5 Location
4 Cleanliness
5 Site Quality
2 Noise
Photo of Campendium

Reviewed by
Campendium

June 25, 2020
Rated

Broken water pipe flooded our site, broken sewer pipe dumped raw sewage onto our site, neighbors utility pole in center of our site, neighbors sewage pipe two feet from our picnic table, no WiFi, no cable, no one answers the after hours number, noisy at night, no response from the manager about the many issues. Maintenance crew dug up our site without notifying us, moved our things and had tools strewn about our site while smoking and throwing butts on our site.

We tried to talk to the manager from the second we got onto our site about these issues, we tried to move sites but was told the campground was full, we were promised that they would shut off the water to the neighboring site and wouldn't be putting anyone on that site so as to resolve the flooding issue. Still, three days later, they decided to come dig up our site without notifying us and in opposition to what we were told, and some people we don't know were touching and moving our personal possessions (during COVID19!) while we were out and without asking or notifying us of this. These men were smoking and throwing butts on our site as well so we were expected to clean up their mess or live with their trash along with the mess from digging up the site, water issues and sewage issues.

This campground had zero interest in providing the utilities we paid for or in providing any level of customer service.

Was this helpful?

Nightly Rate: $70.00

Days Stayed: 5

Site Number: 72

1 Access
3 Location
1 Cleanliness
1 Site Quality
1 Noise

Cell Coverage Rating

Verizon 4G

  • 1 Review
  • 0 Helpful
August 31, 2020
Rated

Plenty of pull through sites, but the sites are very small. We stayed in a “deluxe pull through” which would have been considered a “run-of-the-mill” site at any other campground. Only the lower numbered deluxe sites resembled level ground and had a patio. The higher numbered deluxe sites were a rip off. Roads were narrow, and there were cars parked such that they were obstructing the roadway. Staff was very friendly and the location was convenient. Store was well stocked and well run. Security was attentive during quiet hours. Verizon service was ~2 bars, good for voice calls but 4g data was poor. Campground WiFi was acceptable during the week but became unusable during the weekend.

Was this helpful?

Nightly Rate: $83.00

Days Stayed: 3

Site Number: 17

5 Access
5 Location
4 Cleanliness
2 Site Quality
5 Noise

Cell Coverage Rating

Verizon 4G

Be the first to add a review to the Harpers Ferry-Civil War Battlefields KOA.

Harpers Ferry-Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Rd
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
25425-5168 USA
Remove Ads

Hours

Closed Now
  • Sun - Wed: 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
  • Thu - Sat: 7:00 am - 10:00 pm

Problem with this listing? Let us know.

Has RV parking changed? Let us know.

Remove Ads
  • Check
    Parking
  • Check
    Pets Allowed
  • Check
    Restrooms
  • Check
    Wifi
  • Unavailable
    Wheelchair Accessible
  • Check
    Credit Cards Accepted
Affiliation
Kampgrounds of America (KOA)
Back In RV Sites Count
20
Last Nightly Rate
95.0
Longest Vehicle Length Reported
42.0
Lowest Nightly Rate
44.0
Max Length
55ft
Pull Through RV Sites Count
91
Sites Count
311
Standard Tent Sites Count
102
  • Check
    Swimming Pool
  • Unavailable
    Paved Sites
  • Check
    Fifty Amp
  • Check
    Full Hookup
  • Check
    Rec Facilities
  • Check
    Pull Through
  • Check
    Tent Sites
  • Check
    Dump Station
  • Check
    Big Rigs
  • Unavailable
    Open Seasonally
  • Unavailable
    Age Restricted
  • Check
    Back In RV Sites
  • Unavailable
    Boondock
  • Check
    Cabin Sites
  • Unavailable
    Dispersed Sites
  • Check
    Firewood
  • Unavailable
    Fulltime Residents
  • Unavailable
    Group Tent Sites
  • Check
    Laundry
  • Unavailable
    Mobile Homes
  • Unavailable
    Permit Required
  • Check
    Potable Water
  • Check
    Propane
  • Check
    Public Water
  • Check
    Pull Through RV Sites
  • Check
    Reservations
  • Check
    RV Sites
  • Check
    Sewer Hookup
  • Check
    Showers
  • Check
    Sites
  • Check
    Standard Tent Sites
  • Unavailable
    Vehicle Wash Permitted
  • Check
    Water Hookup
  • Check
    Outdoor Seating
See More Details (65)

Campground, Parking, Pets, Dining, Restrooms

Remove Ads

Nearby Hotels

Berryville, Virginia
Hagerstown, Maryland
FastBook
$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

Brunswick, Maryland
Winchester, Virginia
Remove Ads
Remove Ads
64640