“Located in a very isolated section of historic Oglethorpe County”
This bridge goes over the Red Oak Creek. It was build in 1840 and is 252.5 feet long. It's truss is town lattice style. It is not open for traffic. It has a historic marker and there is parking on the side of the road. It is also known as the Imlac Bridge. Located in a very isolated section of historic Oglethorpe County, this bridge suffered from neglect and was in desperate need for rehabilitation. Some of the pictures below show the bridge while it was being repaired during April 1998. Those repairs are now complete. The original builder of this bridge is listed in Covered Bridges of Georgia as a "Mr. Hunt," which probably is the same person who is known to have built Cromer's Mill bridge: J. M. "Pink" Hunt. The Covered Bridge Trail of Georgia brochure states that this bridge was built by Pink Hunt and Washington King together. Whoever built the bridge was ambitious: this bridge had the longest main span, 130 feet, of any surviving bridges. At some point in time a wooden pier was built to shore up the long span so the claim of longest unsupported span now belongs to the Red Oak Creek bridge.
Be the first to add a review to the Howard's Covered Bridge.
Howard's Covered Bridge
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.