“the original king tenderloin”
Where We Started: In the winter of 1966, Bill Smith known as “Smitty” noticed a restaurant for sale across the street from his gas station at the corner of Fleur Drive & Army Post Rd. Blue Jay’s restaurant was selling after having been in business since 1950. Bill bought the restaurant and changed the name to Smitty’s Tenderloin Shop. Smitty’s opened for business in 1967. He continued the tradition of hand making & serving large breaded pork tenderloins. Bill “Smitty” Smith ran the restaurant until his retirement sixteen years later. Where We’ve Been: In November of 1983 Greg, Bill’s son, and his wife, Cheri took over the family business. Within six months the restaurant moved six blocks east to its present location of 1401 SW Army Post Rd. They have been in that same location for 26 years still making all of their own breaded pork tenderloins and homemade onion rings. Where We’re Going The business has always been in the Smith family and has expanded now to the third generation. Ben, the owners son, will take over ownership when Greg & Cheri retire. No doubt he will continue to do what Smitty’s does best, make the breaded pork tenderloins that people love!
Be the first to add a review to the Smitty's Tenderloin Shop.
Smitty's Tenderloin Shop
- Mon - Sat: 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted