“English Tea Room”
The Tuck Box was constructed by designer-builder Hugh Comstock in 1927, either as his office or in response to his wife's hobby of making "Otsy-Totsy" dolls. It was first used as a restaurant in the early 1930's and was named "Sally's". The building just to the rear was also built by Comstock in 1929 and was used as a garden shop, and much later as The Tuck Box Gift Shop. The kiosk next to the patio gate was added in 1931. In the early 1940's, two sisters from England started the small tea room which they named The Tuck Box. After operating the restaurant for eight years, Mrs. Bumbridge and Mrs. Watson, sold to another British couple, John and Elsie Grandfield. Elsie's delicious recipes have had the greatest and most lasting impact on The Tuck Box. Many are still in use today. In 1948, the Grandfields hired young Lucille Pinkston who eventually bought the restaurant in 1960. By 1964, Lucille had become Mrs. Glenn Berry and the couple also bought the property. In 1976, Glenn and Lucille sold the property and business to another long-time employee, Aleen Hillbun and her husband Harvey, thus ending Lucille's twenty-six years of association with and devotion to The Tuck Box English Tea Room.
People rave about the scones, but I honestly think that the atmosphere is the highlight here. Definitely take a moment to sit down and enjoy your coffee and baked goods. But yes, the scones are tasty, as are the jams! BRING CASH!
Very small but cute homey feel. Dined in the small outside area. Very peaceful & quiet in an upper scale neighborhood shopping area. Ordered the scones & tea, pretty good.
Be the first to add a review to the The Tuck Box Tea Room.
The Tuck Box Tea Room
- Sun - Sat: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted
No Public Restrooms
Own or Manage This Location?
Claim this listing to keep your
information up to date.