“Cleveland's first Reform synagogue”
In 1850, forty-seven German-speaking families formed Cleveland's first Reform synagogue, which they named Tifereth Israel. In 1855, under the leadership of their first rabbi, Isadore Kalisch, the small group moved out of rented quarters to the newly constructed Huron Road temple. The congregation remained on Huron Road until 1894 when, having increased in numbers they moved into an elegant temple on East 55th and Central, during the rabbinate of Rabbi Aaron Hahn (1877-1892).
Be the first to add a review to the The Temple Tifereth Israel.
The Temple Tifereth Israel
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.