“Great soup and sandwiches”
Great soup and sandwiches. Best reuben on the Route. We make our own frozen custard (try it by the scoop or a malt or shake). We do breakfast, also. Angels on the Route has just as much history as it does character. The original 1865 20' by 108' building was constructed for Cooper's Dry Goods Store. In 1910 the building was sold to Mike Reedy, a pharmacist, then in 1958 to R. F. Hartley who operated a drug store and treasure shop. In 1977 the building was then sold to Terry Martin and after that the building was a donut shop up until Sue and Sue gave it a new beginning on Route 66. The reconstruction started with removing paneling, wallpaper, and plaster on bricks. It moved to removing fifty 150 year old 20' timbers of southern yellow pine to be cut for the woodworks of the shop including the floors. As the front of the building was being removed for outside seating 2 pillars were discovered. They were left and painted the color of the Golden Gate Bridge to bring a little touch of California to the shop. The brick work had to be repaired and a second floor was added for local artists to display their works or used for special events.
Be the first to add a review to the Angels on the Route.
Angels on the Route
- Mon, Tue, Thu: 7:00 am - 6:00 pm
- Fri: 7:00 am - 5:00 pm
- Sat: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
- Sun: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.
Own or Manage This Location?
Claim this listing to keep your
information up to date.