“built after the fire of 1855”
Known as the Joss House, this structure was built after the fire of 1855. It served as a temple and house of worship for the area’s Chinese population. In the 1880s, this block of Sacramento Street was known as “Chinatown Hill.” The Chinese concentrated here and built most of the buildings. At one time, they had laundry shops, opium dens and card rooms. Brewery Lane, just north of the Joss House, was the entrance to Auburn’s “red light district.” During the district’s illustrious history, a pious man seeking to burn out the ladies also unfortunately burned out some of the Chinese settlement.
Be the first to add a review to the Joss House Museum & Chinese History Center.
Joss House Museum & Chinese History Center
Hours not available
Is there a problem with this listing? Let us know.