Tucked away in eastern Washington's Klickitat County, along 4,700 feet of Columbia River Gorge shoreline, is a tiny town with a population of only 98 people. 5,300 acres of land was purchased in the early 1900s by Sam Hill, and he named the land Maryhill, named after his daughter. The Maryhill Land Company developed plans to establish a Quaker farming community.
Not only is this town home to the 99-acre Maryhill State Park, where visitors are invited to camp, boat, fish, hike, watch for birds and go for a swim, but it's also home to the gorgeous Maryhill Museum of Art.
Initially, the museum was built in 1914 with the intention that it would serve as the residence of the Hill family. But those plans fell apart when he was unable to solve Maryhill's irrigation problem, which led to the failure of his land company. Unfortunately, the village buildings, including a store, post office, church, inn and blacksmiths shop burned to the ground. Construction of the mansion ended in 1917. One of Hill's friends convinced him to turn the mansion into an art museum":
"Loïe Fuller, a pioneer of modern dance living in Paris—convinced him to turn his would-be mansion into a museum of art. Fuller’s close association with well known artists in France, helped build the core of the museum’s collection, including the acquisition of more than 80 works by French sculptor Auguste Rodin. Hill also transferred his own art collections to the museum." - Maryhill Museum of Art
But, possibly the coolest thing to see in Maryhill, is a full-scale replica of Stonehenge.
Maryhill Stonehenge is close to the State Park and was built by Hill after he founded the town. Hill was a Quaker, and he had hoped that the town would become a thriving Quaker community. After WWI, the Maryhill Stonehenge was erected to serve as a monument dedicated to the men who perished in the Great War from Klickitat County. The Stonehenge replica was intended to serve as a monumental allegory to the needless human sacrifice that's caused by war. Similar to the human sacrifices Hill alleged were committed by the Druids.