Remove Ads

Queenstown-Lakes District Essential Info


The Queenstown Lakes District, a New Zealand local government district, is part of the Otago Region. The Queenstown Lakes District is surrounded by the districts of Central Otago, Southland, Westland and Waitaki.
Much of the area is often referred to as Queenstown because of the popularity of the resort town, but the district covers a much wider area, including the towns of Wanaka to the north-east, Glenorchy to the north-west and Kingston to the south.
The district is sometimes called the Southern Lakes, as it contains Lake Wakatipu, Lake Wanaka and Lake Hāwea.


Best Time To Go