Remove Ads

Aboriginal Shire of Palm Island Essential Info


The Aboriginal Shire of Palm Island is a special local government area of Queensland, Australia, managed by the Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council under a Deed of Grant in Trust granted to the community on 27 October 1986. It is located on Palm Island, near the north Queensland city of Townsville.
The council was previously the Palm Island Community Council. The Community Council had far fewer powers and was reliant on revenue from alcohol sales from the canteen.
10 of the 12 Islands in the Greater Palm Island Group come under the control of the Shire ( Palm Island, Fantome Island, Curacoa Island, Havannah Island, Brisk Island, Esk Island, Falcon Island, Eclipse Island, Barber Island, Fly Island, plus a few rocks: Dido Rock, Hayman Rock, Chilcott Rocks, Paluma Rock), but Orpheus Island is not within its borders. The same is true for Pelorus Island, located just north of Orpheus Island. Albino Rock belongs to Pelorus Island National Park.
The current Mayor of Palm Island is Alfred Lacey who was elected in 2008. The former Mayor was Cr. Oui-Foster who had previously been the chairwoman of the Community Council from 2001 to 2003 until the council was dissolved over mismanagement of funds and was an Independent candidate for the electoral district of Townsville in the 2004 election.
2008 councillors are:
Ruth Gorringe
Raymond Sibley
Zina Prior
Mick Thaiday
The chief executive officer of the Council is Barry Moyle, who is the former Mayor of the Johnstone Shire Council.


Best Time To Go