wanderlustandgo

wanderlustandgo

December 17, 2013

I'm going to be honest. There are a lot of greater things to see in Utah. However, this place is one-of-a-kind, so I guess it's worth visiting just to say you've been and seen if (and smelled it of course). It does smell, a lot. There are also dead brine shrimp all over the place. One great way to experiences this place is by seeing a concert at the Great Saltair. That way you get to have fun and are in a lovely grassy area just far enough away from the "lake". There are people who enjoy sailing and visiting the lake though, so it's not all bad.

2 people found this review helpful
December 17, 2013

I visited in July, and wish I could have stayed longer (which means I must return!). We only had time for a quick day trip, but it was an incredibly impressive one. Aside from the fact that the landscape is gorgeous and you feel at times as though you are alone in the world, there are animals galore. We saw bison all over the place (which was a bit disconcerting at times), antelope (of course!), a snake and other little creatures. It was a perfect day to get out of the city, and next time I'll take a picnic. As well as mosquito repellent.

6 people found this review helpful
December 17, 2013

I'd really wanted to make this happen this year, so we did. I wasn't too impressed. To start with the positive things - the scenery is fantastic. You look up to the surrounding and striking mountains as Snowbird's backdrop and feel like you might possibly be in the Alps. The beer was also great and there was more of a selection than Utah normally offers. That said, the food selection was extremely limited (and very overpriced, though that's probably to be expected), the artisans - excepting one or two - seemed to have hardly anything to do with Germany and/or Oktoberfest, and there wasn't very much entertainment. Still a fun afternoon, but expect not to want to stay too long. The smallest beer option is about $8, if I remember correctly.

1 person found this review helpful
December 17, 2013

I have to admit, I thought this would be lame. We went to visit Bridgeport bridge and I didn't have an accurate picture of the terrain, scenery, history or how long the bridge was. I was completely wrong. This is completely worth a stop or detour. We spent time skipping stones and photographing the beautiful bridge, and imagining the people who must have often crossed it years and years ago. There is an old Shell station near the Visitor's Center which is worth a look and brings you back to the 50s. This is a beautiful stop; I only wish we'd had more time to visit more of the park.

1 person found this review helpful
December 17, 2013

My entire family stayed in this B&B over Thanksgiving, taking up all 7 rooms. It was a complete blast. The Emma Nevada House has so much unique character, and it is the perfect distance from the quaint Nevada City downtown. The inn-keepers (Jim & Katherine) were incredibly hospitable, and the breakfasts were high quality! Make this the place you stay if you want a great time in Nevada City.

1 person found this review helpful
December 17, 2013

Just as a quick note, this monument has a suggested donation of $2 per group upon entry. There wasn't anyone monitoring the site as far as we could tell, but $2 isn't much.

I'm glad we stopped, but this is a pretty weird place. We weren't actually able to enter the center of the monument (where the trailer and main part is), and I'm not sure if anyone is able to anymore. You are free to roam all around it, and can still see pretty much everything. There are a lot of "junk" items such as old cars, TVs, electronics and home goods which are included in the mix. There are also bones and old children's toys and other random things.

Parts of the monument reminded me of the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. The use of cement and piecing together of many different items almost imitates Gaudi's "dripping" architectural style and the many facades on the Sagrada Familia. I'm pretty sure this is unintentional, but that was one of the things I appreciated about the monument.

Other than that, overall, it was pretty creepy. Maybe it's just being out in the middle of nowhere in what feels like a semi-evil place (old toy baby doll resting in some animal bone), or maybe being with more than one other person would make it feel less isolating.

4 people found this review helpful
December 17, 2013

Unfortunately, we didn't stop the car for this one. I didn't really know what to expect, and I wished we had stopped just as we were driving by. This is such a unique structure. Not exactly beautiful, but an interesting sight to behold. Next time we're on I-80!

1 person found this review helpful
December 17, 2013

Turns out my husband's great-grandfather did all the lighting on ol' Wendover Will. This is a quick photo-op stop, and is pretty impressive. Worth seeing in daylight or at night!

1 person found this review helpful
December 17, 2013

I moved to Salt Lake City a year and a half ago, and didn't make it here until last month. This was such a beautiful place to stop on our roadtrip out to California. Driving by most of the Great Salt Lake/start of the salt flats, I didn't think I'd be too impressed. I was wrong. The terrain is unlike any other; it feels like you're on a foreign planet. I only wish we'd had more time to explore. This is well worth the stop if you're driving by on I-80.

2 people found this review helpful