Remove Ads
Krystal Bailey
Road Warrior

Krystal Bailey

Chico, CA, United States

My husband and I are off beat adventurers and road trippers.

August 02, 2015

I saw the falls here and roadtrippers so on our way home from Yellowstone I made a special detour to see it. My husband and I were in awe. It was breath taking. The dam and PGE buildings take away from the beauty a bit and the swag booth is a bit much but it was really beautiful.

11 people found this review helpful
August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0

We were on our way back from Castle Lake when we thought we'd stop and see the crags. I wasn't expecting an $8 fee to get into the park so we kind of cheated seeing as we had no cash on us. We kept driving up the road and it went up a hill and we had a beautiful view of the crags. I also go to pick wild black berries. Judging by the scat in the area, I'd warn you there are bears around.

1 person found this review helpful
August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0

Lake Mono is really awesome and it's neat that you can 'swim' in it. My recommendation is don't actually try to swim though you'll pull a muscle. Always bring a jug of water with you to rinse off or the salt might make your skin burn.

Bring a camera or you'll regret it.

3 people found this review helpful
August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0

Honey Run is a local landmark. It's a sturdy ol' bridge that has withstood a lot of potentially disastrous circumstances. I believe it's a dollar or two to park there and there's the bridge. You can not drive on it but you can walk out and imagine all the pioneers driving their wagons across it. If you drive further up the road (take the road to the left at the Y in the road at honey run) and continue up to the steel bridge you can tube down. It can get semi dangerous but most people enjoy it.

1 person found this review helpful
August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0

The husband and I stopped here on a whim while in Sacramento once. We walked up to the gate and the little clock on it said we missed the most recent tour by ten minutes. It would seem most people don't take the tour because when we walked to the gift shop all the employees in period clothes were there and they were thrilled to see us. They said we weren't late, they were just waiting for us to give us a private tour! I never thought this kind of tour would be so interesting but we learned a lot about many of the more famous residents of the mansion and it's many famous visitors including JFK! We are pretty good at getting off the cuff 'well it's just you guys here' candid tours and our older guide did not disappoint with some funny and gross jokes about the cess pool that used to be beneath the building. "You know what a cess pool is? That's where your cra.... uh poo goes"

I will end this by saying it took everything in me to not get a photo op sitting on the toilet there so I could claim I sat on the same toilet Reagan and JFK sat on. SO TEMPTED!

1 person found this review helpful
June 22, 2014

Bidwell park is really beautiful. I prefer upper park myself. Great for hiking, swimming, biking, walking, just about anything. Dog friendly but keep your dog on a leash (except in upper park on the north side of the road generally you can have your dog off leash)

1 person found this review helpful
June 22, 2014

My work orders here a lot. Don't suggest catering from them. Their salad is atrocious and the last time we got them I was on the toilet for two days.

1 person found this review helpful
June 22, 2014

The people who work here show a very obvious love for the animals in their care. This is the only 'zoo' I've ever been to where the animals seem truly happy and are playing with each other and showing some semblance of character. It's always best to go to zoos early when it's cool and the animals are more active. The price can't be beat but the pigmy goats can get REALLY pushy.

1 person found this review helpful
June 22, 2014

I saw the falls here and roadtrippers so on our way home from Yellowstone I made a special detour to see it. My husband and I were in awe. It was breath taking. The dam and PGE buildings take away from the beauty a bit and the swag booth is a bit much but it was really beautiful.

3 people found this review helpful
June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0

I feel odd saying this... But I loved this place. It seemed so funny and quirky we just had to stop here. We found out about it on this site btw. The man at the desk was super nice and also sent us home with free hash browns lol. I learned way more than I ever knew there was to know about potatoes that is for sure!

6 people found this review helpful